Customer reviews for Latitude XT3

Latitude XT3

Latitude XT3
3.833 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 out of 1267%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude XT3
Review 1 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CL00
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Works with Win8

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been using my XT3 for months and have been really happy with it. I upgraded to Win8 - The display problems are caused by power saving with the Intel video driver. To fix this, go to driver settings (advanced mode), Power option - select On Battery in top right, and UNcheck display refresh rate setting. I haven't bothered testing some of Dell's security vault apps since I don't use them. About the only con I can think of is the touch overlay on the screen does dull the display a bit, and I wish I could upgrade beyond 8GB RAM.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:375wea
Title:

Trouble with Windows 8

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Afer tryintwic to upgrae to win 8, I had to give up. The screen goes berserk with windos opening opening and closing. The drivers are not responding as they should or maybe they are the wrong ones. This mchine was purchased for the sole use of Windows 8. That was a mistake as there are not any drivers for the machine work with Win 8
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 13, 2012
Hi 375wea,

Sorry about the trouble with windows 8 OS.

I would suggest you to check with our Dell support team for further assistance with this issue.They will be able to check and see the best they can do to help.

You can reach us through :-

Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Or join the conversation with experts in Dell community forum -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I hope that helps.
Thank you for your feedback and choosing Dell !



0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bossking3
(Bulgaria)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Proud owner of the XT3

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I previously owned the XT2 - good, but a lot of disadvantages. XT3 is a major leap in the right direction. I've tested quite a few tablets and computers. This thing is the top product.
Improvements:
1. Touchscreen - Perfect smooth experience with both the pen and the finger touch. No random movements, and especially no cursor position reset anymore. XT3 supports 4 touch points, but in my opinion that's quite enough. Let's be honest, anything above is useless.
2. The display - quite brighter and more daylight-viewable. Almost unnoticable to none backlight flickering (previous version was flickering a lot when backlight was reduced to a low level).
3. Rotation and lid hinges - they successfully targeted the right amount of firmness. The lid can rotate in both directions to 180 degrees.
4. Lid latching - a new feature. The latching mechanism is available on both sides of the lid. There's a video showing that the latching is not perfect. True, it unlatches if you try to move it sideways while latched, but it doesn't pop out that easily. To me it works as perfectly enough. It gives this feeling when it latches successfully.
5. Sound volume buttons next to the screen on the lid - such a good and needed improvement
Advantages to other laptops.
1. Wi-Fi is quite fast, stable and robust
2. Keyboard is noiseless and firm
3. Battery is quite durable, i won't commit to times, but you will feel it (especially with the 9-cell one)
4. Camera and microphone - much better experience. And video and audio quality is just superb
5. Bottom parts have easy access since the cover is screw-less, you can change hardware easily
6. The stylus - It's round and you don't have to align edges to get it back in the laptop
7. Design - rubber coating, very nice look and feel
The drawbacks:
1. The cooling vent is at the bottom of the base. It's not a bad thing - it's right over the RAM. But when i tested with some intensive work, it turned out that the cooling is not very productive. If anyone at Dell is reading this, just for the sake of better cooling, you should design a second vent somewhere on the top for the future versions to guarantee the flow of air when the bottom one is covered, no matter with clothing or paperwork.
2. Sound quality through the speakers. A lot of noise, sparkling
3. Charge time - I bought a 90 Watt charger, thinking it would compensate the charge time of the battery being a 9-cell one. Well, I was wrong.
4. Pen is using a battery - the consumption is not intensive. It's just Dell could've placed a rechargable battery, which could be charged while the pen is in its hole.
5. Context Menu Keyboard Button - since i use the keyboard a lot, i am really missing it. So, PLEASE, Dell get it back in future versions
6. Screen rotation - can't rotate upside down. Especially unsuitable when featured with the 9-cell battery which comes out about an inch from the front of the base
7. Not very thin and lightweight, especially with the 9-cell (76W/hr) battery
Pros:professional design, software development, software design, programming, entertainment, sound editing, Video Editing
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TabletsTeach
Title:

Good Tablet except for the screen

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a Tablet PC in steroids. It is a executive-type convertible Tablet PC. Bells and whistles in connectors and card slots. The XT3 has a solid construction. The Achilles’ heel of all convertible Tablet PCs is the screen’s rotating hinge, and XT3's looks solid. It has no Chiclets keyboard but a fine regular low profile quiet keyboard. The XT3 is a Tablet PC for the executive or hard working professor, with many similarities to other executive high end Tablet PCs. Those were the good news. Now to the bad and ugly.
The digitizer was initially acting weird. In the screen, at about 8-1/2″ from the left, in a 1/2″ wide area all the way from the top to the bottom of the screen, the stylus would not generate ink on the screen. The pointer of the stylus will start jumping around and you could not stop it with the mouse. Eventually Dell technicians replaced the whole screen module under warranty. That was not the end. After using the XT3 for about four weeks, Surprise! I found the screen is not scratch proof. N-Trig surface screen is supposed to be scratch-resistance or proof. The screen on the XT3 is scratch-prone screen. After a some inking I found the screen was scratched all over. I always clean the screen and use soft pressure to ink, but the XT3 screen looked like a bad cat lectured an electric field class with sharp claws on it. See the picture attached. This has not happen with my other Tablet PC from another popular brand. Certainly this is a big manufacturer hiccup. The screen should have been made scratch proof with respect to the included stylus.So after initially rating the XT3 close to perfection, the screen problem forced me to downgrade it to 3 out of 5, or 6 out of 10. The core of a Tablet PC is its inking ability and that goes with screen being scratch-proof for durability. So the XT3 is not good enough to be excellent. I will continue to use it because it was furnished by my workplace but I will not buy it for myself or hardly recommend to a friend.
Pros:education, work
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 18, 2012
TabletsTeach,

Thank you for taking your valuable time out to write a review for the Latitude XT3. Sorry to hear that you are facing issues with this Tablet after the screen was replaced. Without your inputs we will not be able to improve! I'm sure our engineering teams will read this review to make necessary improvements. Do remember, we are listening, apart from regular phone support there are other ways to get in touch with us. Please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:QueenOfStarWars
(Myrtle Beach SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Ideas With Some Design Flaws

PostedAugust 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn't wait for my new Dell XT3 to arrive. I had the Dell Latitude XT and loved it.
My XT3 arrived just a week ago.
1) I love the back-lighting of the keyboard.
2) It is rugged, but heavy.
3) The 90-degree turing each way doesn't really bother me.
4) Not crazy about the front, plastic battery.
5) I agree with other reviewers about closing the laptop.
6) I wish I had NOT BOTHERED with the CD attachment. It adds more thickness to the bottom and you can't use it with the docking station. Useless.
7) I am experiencing random cursor movements. It opens new windows, moves icons, etc. This is without any touching or devices attached to the laptop. I'm starting to see others with this problem.
8) While I like the overall design of the docking station, mine is crooked and can't be adjusted in the angle that is necessary to have it level. There is also a little tray that sits in there and is removable. Not sure why.
Pros:teaching
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 16, 2012
Hi QueenOfStarWars,

Thanks for your reviews. Your feedback is valuable for us to make it a better product in the future . If you have any concerns or issue , please reach any of our support team through - Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT

They will be happy to help.
Thank you for choosing Dell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RBA2012
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

9 Cell Battery on the Front of the Computer

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the computer itself is a great machine. I have had the product approximately 5 months. It has great speed, very light, and excellent to take to meetings.
However, I would reccommend that you not buy the 9 cell battery that is located on teh front of the machine. It is in a cheap plastic shell and cracked after 3 months. I notified Dell and was informed this was not the first time this had been reported. When I spoke to technical support and the supervisor, I was infomed that there was nothing that could be done if all you have is a basic warranty.
Pros:travel work
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 5, 2012
RBA2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Latitude XT3. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our products and services for the future.

Thank you for choosing Dell!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeattleXT3User
Title:

Overall good laptop - poor design in several areas

PostedMarch 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell makes great business computers and this one is not an exception. I have had an XT and XT2 model for several years and decided to upgrade to an XT3. In general I have been happy but here are some areas that they could improve on:
1) Like my XT2, I would like to rotate the image on the screen in any rotation so that you can hold the tablet in anyway you like to accomodate cables, etc. for presentations.
2) Way too bulky; can Dell come in to 2012 with the idea of something sexy and thin rather than bloated laptops that break my back carrying it around everyday on transit, etc. Apple Air, ASUS, ... they have all done it - Why can't Dell do this?
3) The new design for the hing to close the LCD panel is very poorly designed. You have to get it just right as far as lining up the LCD panel with the base and there is a magnet that then pulls the locking mechanism up to lock it the panel down. Like I said you have to have this just right - if you are off a hair forget it and even then, it doesn't stay shut. Dell has sent three different technicians and replaced parts, etc. to no avail. They finally swapped out the three month old unit for a brand new one and the same problem. I gave up.
Why only this one model? Why not a larger and a smaller model as well?
Anyway, I hope someone at Dell takes this review to heart and that it helps the general public as well. If you want a solid workhorse this will do it; if you want something with less weight, nicer design, then you may want to shop around a little.
Pros:it network engineer, sales / marketing, trainer
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 22, 2012
Hey SeattleXT3User,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Latitude XT3. We definitely appreciate your feedback as it provides an excellent reference for other customers to use.

I encourage you to share you ideas on the XT3 at
http://www.ideastorm.com/

Thank you for choosing Dell!
+27points
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jpOHIO
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect PC Tablet Hybrid Combo

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a perfect fix with performance, weight, touch, and productivity. It works well with Windows 8, but Windows 7 will be fine too. The keyboard is VERY comfortable, and overall very nice to touch. The Duo Sense works fine, especially during precision operation. iPad is like a toy next to this (well, it is a toy, actually)... Install Android Emulator to get to next level, install Amazon app store.... dada, all the Android apps are ready to go...
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, GET IT WHEN IT IS ON SALE... The MSRP for XT3 is way too expensive...
Pros:business productivity, android app, travel laptop, medical software
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xt3user
(Scottsdale, Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Screen Rotation

PostedMarch 2, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I agree with another reviewer, if the video driver would allow for a full 180 degree rotation it would make the tablet mode much more useable. Otherwise; Size is perfect, mobile broadband is flawless. I use the extended battery and get 10 plus hours of battery life, there is no better feeling than not being tethered to an outlet. I use this product fairly hard in and out of vehicle and rotating the screen often. After more than 6 months the swivel hinge is loose (tech support has dispatched a new one and will be installed NBD). In the photos you can see that I use this in my vehicle, to put it into tablet mode without 180 degree rotation on the video the computer is unusable. 5 star product but DELL NEEDS TO FIX the screen rotation issue!!!
Pros:contracts, presentations, mobile computing, mobile broadband, daylight viewing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCShop
(richmond, va)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Badly needs 180 degree rotation which is missing

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My wife uses this computer for teaching, but it has one serious flaw - with a push of a button, you can rotate the screen to the left or to the right 90 degrees, but not 180 degrees. The problem is that when folded in tablet mode, all cables face towards you instead of away in the back. Thus it is not practical to put this on a podium or stand because the cables always get in the way. The stock Dell driver only rotates the screen to the right or left, but not 180 degrees away. We downloaded the video driver from Intel, which permitted the screen to be flipped 180 degrees, but when hooked up to a projector, the screen image was upside down! Dell, you need to fix this. We called Tech support if there was an update to the Dell XT3 video driver, but there was none from dell. When we asked Dell tech support if there was any way to put in a request for this, they replied that 'There is no way for us to put in this feature request to the engineers'.
If this one thing were fixed, there is no question that I would rate it five stars! It is otherwise fast and powerful (with Intel i7), but this one overlooked detail really makes it awkward to use.
Dell tech support is the reason why I purchase Dell servers and workstations for my company and the same goes for my personal purchases at home. I am confident that Dell will put out an update for this, and I am hoping that this review/request will reach the right person at Dell.
By the way, the original Dell XT1 did allow the screen to rotate 180 degrees, but this feature was removed from the XT2 and the XT3... we have indeed been using these Dell tablets for quite a while.
Pros:teaching - presentation
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SumitDash
(Bhuj, Gujarat, India.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A very good performing, attractive Machine.

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Title
Awesome Computer!!
Pros:3d modeling, online video streaming
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude XT3
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jack1981
Title:

amazing

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
way better tablet. amazing machine super fast response. super tough beautiful
+25points
41of 57voted this as helpful.