Customer reviews for Latitude E6530

Latitude E6530

Latitude E6530
4.444 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
8 out of 989%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6530
Review 1 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:THEO98
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

LATITUDE 6530

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
ONE OF THE BEST COMPUTERS DELL HAS MADE TO DATE...IT HAS IT ALL...4 USB PORTS...INTERNAL MODEM....5 YEAR SERVICE...i7-3520M PROCESSOR..BLUETOOTH...DVD-RW...E-MODULAR BAY...WEBCAM...BACKLIT KEYBOARD...FINGERPRINT AND SMARTCARD READER..320GB HARDDRIVE...HD GRAPHICS...ETC...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PaulNZ
(Auckland, New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Noticeably superior to Inspiron, Vostro, and XPS

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having splashed out this time on the second-most-expensive Dell laptop range (one below a Precision), I am 100% satisfied with my choice of a e6530. Overall build quality is superb, with the keyboard and screen being particularly excellent. Comes with Windows 7 DVD allowing manual reinstallation of operating system, though it takes a long time installing the Dell-specific drivers (and indeed working out which ones to use).
Pros:almost rigid screen, very quiet operation
Cons:9-cell battery sticks out the back, quite bulky and heavy, very time-consuming to reinstall os manually
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:F1Dave
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Reliable performance from Latitude E6500

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've used the E6500 Latitude laptop for business use everyday for 14 months and it has always been reliable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JJSVA2955
(Newport News, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Top qaulity

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the Dell lattitude E6530 after killiong a very nice Toshiba mainly for Windows 7 as few laptops still offered it. I use it as a desktop replacement for work, internet, and videos
Likes:
* 1080P wide view screen is sharp and great for viewing videos.
* The rear coonections for power, Ethernet, and a USB port.
* The backlite keyboard controls for brightness and duration
* Boot speed with hybrid drive after change default to HD.
* Solid feel to the case, palm rest, and keyboard
* Seriously, no heat after 8 to 10 hrs using intel HD 4000 default
* Dead quiet fan and hard drive operation
* Latch to lock the screen when closed
* The built in calculator
* Two USB 3.0 ports
* Dual GPU- HD 4000 and NVS 5200M
* Servcie. Came with a bad Delete key- happens. Dell sent onsite repir person the day before Christmas and replaced it even though I didn't have on site warranty coverage. Awesome!
Dislike
* The NVS 5200M runs warm after extended use, not bad, but much warmer than the HD 4000.
* Speakers are poor even for a business laptop.
Would Change:
* The rear USB port should be 3.0 not 2.0
* No separate Mic In port
* No DVI, locate on the back
* Larger and more HiFI speakers and amp, as it's not all work
* Separate 5.2 outputs. Locate on back
* Off switch for PC status lights- HD, Battery, WiFi.
* Move the tracpad 1/2 inch to the right
* Install built -in flip down feet like a separate keyboards have
* More 2nd GPU ooptions- business and gaming
Overall a great, solid, cool, quiet, fast (I-5 2.8 ghz), feature loaded laptop. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CMichener
(Wintergreen, VA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Perfect small business laptop

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Latitude 6530 is fast and sturdy, and comes well-equipped for running a small business. As a financial manager, the numeric keypad is a great addition for me. I love the feel and the function of this laptop.
The only negative is that it is heavy, but that is an acceptable tradeoff for the larger screen and the very solid, high-quality construction.
Pros:accounting
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jchang6
(Reston, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

high quality-but I have special needs

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall a high quality product that is closest to what I want: quad-core, high display resolution, large memory, and SSD. I bumped the system to 16GB via Crucial and a 512GB OCZ Vector SSD. The dimensions are on the large side, almost as big as my Core2 generation Vostro 17in. Main complaint is 16:9 screen, which might be ok in consumer, but business/professional system should be 16:10. Wish list would be a system capable of 2 internal in the new mSATA or M2 form factors, and even better and additional 2 SSDs in place of the optical bay. Each SSD needs to be on independent IO channels as I want 2GB/s+ IO bandwidth, not capacity.
Pros:software development, general business
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andre100
(Israel)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

bad keyboard

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
New Latitude e6530 looks great, BUT essentially is not usable. Dell decided to shift the keyboard to the very left and add the full numeric pad (for what?). As a result:
-- you essentially having space of 12" laptop to put you hands on (that is none!)
-- you can not keep it on your lap, as you type on the left part of the laptop and it falls down
-- you mistype all the time since keyboard and your hands are on the left of the center of the screen
There are other ergonomic blunders: sharp metallic edge around laptop is unpleasantly cold and hurts your hands, touch pad is too close to the edge. After 3 days of working on this laptop my left hand became dysfunctional and hurts.Also surfaces and in particular fancy cover soils easily. I have older Dell Latitude and it seems that it was made by an entirely different company.
Don't buy this, unless all you intend to do is to calculate you gains/losses on the numeric pad.
Pros:typing web surfing
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 18, 2013
Hi Andre100,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Latitude E6530. I am sorry it is not exactly what you needed. The Latitude line of systems is focused more towards business needs rather than general system usage and web surfing. The keypad is in response to a large demand for it. Users that need the numeric keypad are, generally, not going to use it on their lap. I would suggest the Inspiron, or XPS line of systems for your next laptop.

Thanks again for sharing!
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Softwest
Title:

Good Business Solution

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased three Dell Latitude E6330's for my business, replacing two HP Windows 7 notebook computers and one Apple MacBook Pro notebook computer.
We all run Virtual Machines on our note books as well as the host OS so we need powerful machines.
The Latitude E6530's are great; CPU is capable of the job, screen is very clear and can handle high resolution, full keyboard with separate number keypad is great. I don't like the joystick thing in the centre of the keyboard though; I think it's unnecessary given that one has a track pad. Also the three buttons between the space key and the track pad don't seem to serve a useful purpose (for me anyway). So they are the only downsides.
There are plenty of ports, USB, VGA, HDMI, power & network all placed in out of way places (unlike some where the cables get in the way). We run 27" Dell monitors when we are in the office and the notebooks handle these relatively well. We haven't been able to achieve maximum resolution yet (only 2048 x 1152) which are quiet good for notebooks.
The E6530's are a resonable weight for their power and features.
Overall I am very impressed and satisfied with them.
Pros:manageing our business ms office etc., software development ms access ms sql server., m anaging photographs websites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BartC
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very good, but misses on a few points

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS:
**Very good online manual showing how to take it apart for simple service and memory updates
**Easy off bottom cover for blowing out dust, and access to cards and SODIMMs
**Terrific screen (mine was a 1080)
**Solid build as befits this class of machine
**Hardware switch for radios
**Real latch for the lid
CONS:
**NumLock needs a tally light on the key (CapsLock has one)
**Key travel could be better
**Why bother with USB2
**Where did 1394 port go... The E6520 had one
**Awkward E dock, Dell should have used the new generation series E to redesign the dock. Pushing down on the lid to engage the dock is just inviting a problem. There are better solutions.
**Could have better sound, always a problem on laptops, but I have heard better Dell laptops.
But overall I am pleased with the machine.
Pros:tech writng, client work, audio video editing
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Latitude E6530
Overall Rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5