Customer reviews for Latitude E6510

Latitude E6510

Latitude E6510
3.913 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
3.9
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 70
22 out of 3269%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6510
Review 1 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AngeloD
(San Jose, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very pleased with the E6510

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I started researching the E6510 about a month ago, I read a LOT of reviews, the pro's and con's, but in the end I will make the final decision. First of it's too bad DELL discontinued this model and I believe the E6520 was it's replacement. On to my review...this is a decent size laptop (Mobile workstation)so one should really not complain of it's size or weight, you knew what you were shopping for. Everything about this laptop is very nice, the display is bright and clear, the keyboard and trackstick is smooth and precise. All the media, connectivity, slots and ports are tactically placed. The DVD/RW player feels sturdy, plays and records well. The speakers are placed on each side of the keyboard where they should be and not at the bottom of the case as is with some laptops. The sound is loud, rich and clear. Now if Dell is really reading these reviews (hint, hint), they should incorporate the Dolby system just like what Lenovo did with their new W530. So keep up the good work and hopefully we will see a new and improved Latitude E-series in the future.
Pros:work, media, School, leisure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim Kubicek

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Nice display and good processor. Not the biggest Dell laptop fan, but works well and comes 64-bit installed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fred345
(San Francisco)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A chunk of plastic

PostedApril 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's hard to look at the Dell E6510 when your friends have MacBook Pros. I spent the same price they did and I have a chunk of plastic. This laptop is big with big Dell and Latitude logos all over the place, and lots of thick black plastic. And of course the requisite advertisements throughout.
It is reasonably quiet and has good performance. It's a shame the PC suppliers cannot design laptops that look and feel good.
As for Windows 7, perhaps I'll get to like it more. It certainly seems more stable and less unpredictable than Windows XP, but it does force you to work its way and just seems to make things harder than they should be.
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jasminkumar Patel
(pune)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Perfect Lappi

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
latitude is above all the laptops even dell alienware laptop. This laptop comprises all the requirements needed for a professional, student, gamer everybody..........
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jean-Louis Delville
Title:

Great Lap top but no USB 3 and no HDMI.

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great Lap top after 2 months of use replacing my Latitude 820.
There are no USB 3 and HDMI, I regret that a lap top at this value does not have these important features in 2011.
Pros:real estate development, travelling, streaming video, shows
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LeoTX
Title:

Missing features

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told by pre-sales chat that the headphone/speaker jack on this laptop was a "TRRS" jack like a macbook so you can plug in a standard iphone/blackberry earbud/microphone set and skype away. i learned the hard way that it cannot. and the vertical screen resolution on the one i got is 768. I don't know how many years since i've had a computer with that low of resolution. It does seem solidly built, and is pretty good looking, but i'm not happy.
+3points
26of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WLBU
(Pittsburgh, Pa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Latitude6510 i7 640 M, 8Gb,Win7 64bit-Nice!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the i7 640 M with the integrated Graphics - this is probably the best balance of processor power while still keeping the energy consumption of the laptop very reasonable. This e6510 is remarkably fast, and so far is very impressive. The build quality seems very good, and the layout of the keyboard and large touchpad has been easy to adapt to. It is a very professional looking machine, both closed and opened. The black inside surface does smudge easily, but nothing that a quick napkin wipe won't fix. The screen is really wonderful, it gets quite bright and has options to dim as well. The machine shipped almost two full weeks ahead of schedule - that was a nice surprise. Out of the box I had no issues.
I want to point out a few features that I didn't know about, but am very happy to have. First, Dell has now provided a function which can disable battery charging. This can be adjusted by clicking the battery in the notification area or by pressing Fn-F2. I have been waiting for this a long time - finally we can tell the computer that we WANT the battery half charged - thus preserving battery life. The battery will still take over if you unplug the AC adaptor. Also, there is a simple feature which wasn't present before, which is Fn-D - this combination turns off the display. So if you are listening to music or waiting for a long job to complete, you can shut off the display without closing the lid. Simple but nice.
I also got Dell Latitude ON - it seems to work fine, although I haven't fully gotten used to it. The best function so far is that I can use Remote Desktop within it, so I can remote to another computer and get full functionality while basically using my computer for 10+ hours. I did have a problem with my password the first time into latitude ON, so I had to re-load the firmware, but the second time around it was fine.
I have had one very subtle issue which I fixed. When playing music, watching youtube videos, or playing a DVD, every few minutes there was a very slighy stutter. Almost un-noticeable, and sometimes rare. I was on with Dell Support several times, they re-installed drivers, but this didn't help (they accidently installed some older drivers which I had to fix with the newer drivers again). What fixed it was going into msconfig and doing a pretty bare startup, all services disabled, etc. I have since been able to re-enable most things and it is still working well. I haven't been able to pinpoint the exact service causing the problem, but so far I haven't missed anything I disabled.
Other very subtle things may not even be the computer - every other website loads initially somewhat slow, then comes up very quick, whereas I remember these sites always coming up instantly before, but it could be my provider or some other problem, I don't want to blame the pc just yet.
Overall it is a very nice machine this first two months. Bright screen, comfortable weight, doesn't get too hot, very fast. I highly recommend it.
Pros:data analysis, graphics/photo, Travel
+33points
33of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Perfessrbwilli88
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this machine, it is good and solid. It has plenty of power for photo editing and does all I need.
Pros:photo editing, web browsing, word/excel
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gcla
(MD, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Problems with Ubuntu/Linux

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am disappointed with the ability of this laptop to run Ubuntu. I have the 64-bit version of 10.10 installed. I am experiencing the following problems:
- high-speed USB devices fail after some hours of use (I run a VM from a usb drive). This immediately crashes the VM and requires a laptop reboot to make USB work in Linux again
- the touchpad isn't supported except as a generic ps/2 mouse. One consequence of this is that the touchpad isn't disabled while you type, leading to frequent unintended pointer movements and lots of frustrating typos
- I've had no luck making the machine turn back on after hibernating
- every few days, wifi drops, and requires reloading the kernel module iwlagn to bring it back to life.
I would not recommend this laptop to Linux users who might be affected by the problems above. I wish Dell offered better support for Linux.
Graham
Pros:software development, virtual machines
+16points
27of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mt119
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Overall pretty decent

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this computer through my school's IT department, and on the whole it's been holding up to standard. The high resolution screen is very enjoyable to work on, and for the most part its memory seems to be on par. I've used computer-aided design software with it, and while most computers would freeze up every so often, this one has not. The quad-i5 core processor works very quickly, and Windows 7 works very well also. I have had no trouble with viruses or malware; the protection software is excellent.
There are some cons, however. The keyboard is not backlit, making it harder to work in the dark. Additionally, the boxy design makes it hard to stick into a knapsack and walk comfortably; I would have preferred rounder edges. It also seems to be quite heavy for its size, another disadvantage when it's normally carried in a knapsack. The CD/DVD drive seems very flimsy, constantly opening at the slightest jostle and not appearing to hold up to much pressure. The fans blow very hot out the left side, and sometimes work so hard that they pop and I have to go in for replacements. The battery life leaves much to be desired, averaging about two hours if I'm lucky. I've also had trouble reading DVD's that are full to capacity; it seems as though there isn't enough energy to sift through so many files.
However, it's been really useful to me these past few months so far, especially since I am one who multitasks on a fairly high level; the computer seems to be able to keep up with me for the most part.
Pros:schoolwork some engineering design
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:twothdoc
(Nevada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Unusable

PostedNovember 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only written a couple reviews in my life but I am extremely unhappy with this product. The standard screen resolution with Intel HD video is unusable making the screen graining and fuzzy! We bought two of these laptops both are exactly the same. No change in resolution or font size changes things. I know its a poor product because I also bought a e6410 with upgraded screen and video card, which is absolutely beautiful. We tried to send them back but missed the return deadline by a few days and after trying really hard they wont take them back now. Basically I have two unusable laptops now, and if you would like to buy the two large paper weights email me.
Pros:email and web
+32points
47of 62voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hawthornso23
(New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works great with Ubuntu

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
A bit of a tricky performance installing Ubuntu on it - recommend you do your research thoroughly before attempting this - but once installed everything just worked fine. Normally I prefer LTS releases, but decided to go with 10.10 rather than 10.04 this time because the newer kernel is claimed to be more efficient on laptops. The result is a fully functional Linux laptop - fast - secure - beautiful!
The only casualty was Latitude ON reader which got wiped during the install. However Latitude ON reader is essentially just a tiny Linux distro anyway so I'm not sure what the point of having that would be.
Annoyingly when first turned on the laptop forces a windows install before you can install anything else - or at least I couldn't see how to avoid this - thereby negating even the slim possibility of claiming some sort of refund from Microsoft.
There is also what looks like a deliberate complete lack of Linux support from Dell - makes you wonder what kind of deal they've signed with Microsoft - so you have to be prepared to go it alone. However the Ubuntu community probably offer much better free support than you'd pay for from Dell anyway.
All in all - highly recommended.
Pros:Travel
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JCpleased
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very stable computer! using Windows 7, 64 bit

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had a Dell D630 for the last 2 years.
This 6510 is by far a great improvement. I'm using Windows 7 64 bit, i5 core with 8GB RAM and 500GB of HD.
It works lightning fast, and the features are great. I'm using VMware with it to provide demos and the performance (to be running on a laptop) I think is amazing.
Great value! feels sturdy!
I would like to see USB 3 and HDMI, but I think even without those components the laptop its worth the money I paid.
I will buy one to replace my XPS.
Pros:software demo video editing
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrComputerGeek
Title:

Good STURDY laptop.

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop mostly for school and have been very please with this laptop. The screen with the 1920x1080 version is nothing short of incredible. (I have never seen any of the other screen versions) The colors are excellent and the screen does not glare at all. One of the most impressive things about this computer is its durability. This thing is solid; however, it doesn't feel overly heavy. (Although it's not a light-weight). I've never used it for gaming or anything like that. One aspect that I was pleasantly suprised about was the quality of the speakers, which are better than any other laptop I've used. I thought that I was going to have to buy external speakers for this laptop like my family did with our ACER laptop (that was a good laptop too, but it feels much flimsier and the speakers are unbelievably bad. I was very happy with the price too. I bought it brand new from Dell Outlet for $980. It normally would have cost me $1980 from the noraml Dell website. Needless to say, I was happy... Even at full price, I'd have to say that this business-grade laptop is worth the cost. Yeah the specs aren't as good for the money as you would get if you bought a normal computer laptop, but the 1080p screen is incredibly good and allows you to have multiple documents on screen at the same time, you get a 3 year warranty (much longer than the 1 year warranty that laptops usually come with), and the build quality is better than any consumer laptop I've seen. I looked at EVERY laptop at my local bestbuy (including many dells) and this computer feels MUCH sturdier than any of those. My last comment is this: this computer may be a be a little pricey, but Dell often has good sales. If this computer seems too pricey for you, try to wait for a sale to pop up. It'll be worth it. :)
Pros:School, wathcing videos, listening to music
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve069
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

LOCK UP PROBLEM

PostedNovember 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this machine for about 2 months. I use it 8 hours a day doing Autocad. After spending about 20 hours loading it up with all of my software. It locks up at least 3-4 times a day, I have to power it off and lose all information since my last save. Worked with Dell for a day running all hardware test. They concluded it was windows xp. So they sent me a new hard drive. It was supposed to be loaded with all the software I bought it with, but NO. It was not even formatted. Spent another 4 hours with Dell on the phone just loading everything that it should of had when I got it.
After that I had spent another 10 hours loading all of my stuff again. One day later...LOCKED UP.
I am running the same exact setup I have ran for the last couple of years on another Dell computer. I want my money and time back. But Dell will not do that. DO NOT BUY THIS COMPUTER.
Pros:architect
+21points
33of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rekks
(Charlotte, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Windows 7 Laptop

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a pre-configured E6510 via Fast Track. It has Windows 7 Pro 32-bit, i5 M540 CPU, 4 GB RAM, 220GB HD, NVIDIA NVS 3100M graphics card with 512MB RAM.
My previous laptops have been Dells, and my company provides a Dell for work. They all work great, and this one continues that track record.
I'm using this for general purpose daily use, and some business work like web site development, MS Office, etc. No gaming.
The Windows Experience Index scores are very solid:
Processor: 6.6
Memory: 7.1
Graphics (Aero): 4.9 (lowest score)
Gaming grapics: 6.0
Primary hard disk: 5.9
The only negative I see is the surprisingly low Aero graphics score given the nvidia chip and dedicated video memory. And why is the gaming graphics score so much higher? Whatever.
The hard drive is small compared to current standards. I don't know why they put a 220GB in it. If I'd custom-configured the machine I would have gotten a 500GB. But, for my purposes it's more than large enough.
Everything works as expected. The keyboard is very responsive, yet silent. Not too mushy or too clicky. The letters on the keys light up white (backlight), but I turned that off. The display looks great. The system is very responsive - no lags. Startup and shutdown are very quick. All apps run well, and fast.
The case is what you expect from Dell - nothing fancy but very solid and nice-looking brushed silver body. I especially like that the power and ethernet ports are on the back.
As others have complained - where's the manual? I'm still figuring out all the ports on this thing.
Anyway, other than minor nags, this is a great computer. This is my first Windows 7 machine, and with the great OS running on the solid hardware this computer is the best I've ever had by far.
Pros:web development, business
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobElliott
(Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

E6510 W7 Ultimate x64

PostedOctober 7, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed a high spec laptop for running VMWare applications in order to demo server based software. Hence high end chip, solid state drive and 8GB RAM. When it works it's great but the O/S hopelessly unstable. Log off takes minutes if it succeeds at all, Windows updates fail and also fail to roll back, wireless has to be connected manually every time and stay away from sleep/hibernation - I end up with 97% of memory used when nothing is running - so there are major memory leaks.
I rely very heavily on this so am unable to hand it back for fixing - caught between a rock and a hard place. The worst quality of install I have experienced from Dell in over 10 years of using them.
Pros:general business, demonstartions using vmware
+14points
23of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rreimann
(Minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid machine - where's the documentation?

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am loyal Dell buyer, probably my 9th Dell. Big surprise on this Dell Latitude e6510 was to receive a box, open it, plug in your computer and find nothing in the box or online or loaded on the machine that explains how the features work.
I used the service code to find online docs and even there nothing exists except a very short getting started diagram that tells you what each port is.
I shouldn't have to spend time trying to dig up documentation on how to configure the finger tip reader or quick start up button or other features of this machine.
Perhaps I am missing the location of this documentation?
Pros:small business
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dwayne0919
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Extremely Happy

PostedOctober 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this computer with the i7 quad core, 4gig memory, 320 hdd with all the bells and whistles. Have to admit I was a litte concerned after reading some of the reviews but decided to take a chance. Needless to say I am very happy with the laptop and would not consider anything but a Dell. I also had some initial problems purchasing the system but thanks to the outstanding support service from Dell everything went smoothly. I am extremely happy.
Pros:software development, database design
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6510
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frank1234
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very pleased, after a rough start

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very pleased with my e6510, and its i5 CPU performance and 1920x1080 display are simply amazing. However, my experience wasn't pleasant to begin with.
I saved significant money purchasing the laptop for home office use as a Dell Refurbished system, but the compromise I had to make was that it unfortunately came with XP pre-installed (but included a Windows 7 DVD). The first thing I did was to reformat the drive and install Windows 7 from the included DVD, and then began a long effort to download and install all of the necessary drivers from Dell's web site. Although I have a DSL connection, it took all day to download the many drivers. The effort to determine which drivers to install, and the correct order for installation, was unclear despite Dell's documentation (on their web site - - not included with the computer). When finished, the wireless Ethernet required over two minutes to establish a connection (which only began happening after installing the Dell ControlPoint System Manager drivers). Uninstalling ControlPoint did not solve the problem. To try and eliminate the problem, I reformatted and reinstalled everything again, carefully skipping the ControlPoint drivers, and the system returned to establishing wireless connections within seconds.
The computer also did not include a Bluetooth module, which I desired in order to use my existing Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, so I purchased the appropriate one from Dell (very hard to find on their web site). The process, however, to install it required *complete* disassembly of the entire computer (a scary and difficult process involving use of significant force on very fragile components) that took several hours and caused much anxiety. Documentation of how to do this was also very difficult to find on Dell's web site, and their support technicians were of no help in this regard. When completed, we found the Dell Bluetooth to have significant performance problems that could not be resolved, therefore I was forced to abandon use of the Bluetooth module and return to using a wired mouse.
Another problem that Dell needs to correct is in the design of the touchpad. The touchpad is nearly flush with the palmrest, and this causes very real problems during use of the system because it is extremely easy to frequently cause stray touches of the touchpad when typing. Although it looks sleek when it is nearly flush with the palmrest, the touchpad needs to return to being more recessed.
Despite these problems and the frustrating effort required to deal with them, the computer is a significant upgrade from my previous 5 year old Dell Laptop. However, Dell needs to resolve issues in its ControlPoint software, its Bluetooth module and its touchpad design. As well, I would very strongly warn anyone that if they desire Bluetooth, that they either order it factory-installed or alternatively choose to use a simple-to-install Bluetooth USB dongle.
Pros:software development, desktop productivity
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
1 2