Customer reviews for Latitude E6410

Latitude E6410

Latitude E6410
4.068 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
4.1
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 70
28 out of 3678%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6410
Review 1 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NinjaBoi305
(Tally Ho Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The best laptop Eva

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
its cool lookin and got tought titanium metal and its lightweight!!! ^.^
Pros:Gaming
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LHFaster
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good system - just some aesthetic flaws

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been using this system for 6 months. The system is solid, the frame seems solid. My only criticism is all the grooves and holes on the surface. The holes for the speakers are 10 times larger than the speakers themselves, thus creating unnecessary space for dust and gunk to accumulate.
Love having a dockable system that is lightweight as I travel with this laptop all the time.
Pros:it specialist
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TopReviewer
(Topeka, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Cooling is the only con, otherwise PERFECT.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is a solid machine by Dell, and I simply love it. I also have a ThinkPad X200 in my hand, and I compare these two machines a lot. So I found lots of advantages of this machine, and some disadvantages when compared.
Pros
A Linux-based LatitudeON application that can let you start working rapidly without windows environment
Best keyboard EVER! Better than my ThinkPad machine!
Fast CPU! i5-560m is certainly a great worker, boots 35-seconds to Windows 7, with a traditional HDD? It's just great enough for me.
Easy swap back panel! basically for people of my level, cleaning up dust on the fans, replacing CPU/Memory/WiFi/Heat Sink is just few screws in reach. The easiest laptop to service, as I have ever seen.
Solid Hinge! My first laptop had a huge problem in hinges, it broke two hinges. This Tri-metal hinge by dell seems extremely durable, and the screen barely vibrates when I tap the top. Very solidified.
Screen Lock. Some people might find it annoying, but if you're a traveler, you want the screen to lock, and not open when you don't want to.
Superb Thickness, Considerably Light, Excellent battery life! It's thicker than a Lenovo SL410, which is phenomenal. Its screen is thicker than other consumer machines, but it's simply for the screen protection. I've seen many others who got broken screens, because with too thin of a shell, protection is virtually not there.
it's a 14' machine, so around 5.0 lbs is definitely good enough with 6-cell. The DVD drive is also removable without screws, so it can take away a bit more weight if you sit the machine as a desktop station. Battery lasts around 5.5 hours with 6-cell (63wh), around 6.2 Hours without WiFi turned on.
Overall, impressive. It was one of the best buys I found..
Cons
The trackstick is too responsive, it travels faster than what you probably would desire.
The Increase/Decrease volume and Mute buttons are a tiny bit hard to press on, but it isn't a big deal.
Cooling.... It just used a bit too much plastic in the interior. Hard Drive sits usually at the safety line (appx 100F for a healthy traditional HDD). The bottom of the machine usually sits around 50-60 Celsius, so it's a bit hotter than what I want. Palm rest is around 42 Celcius, just barely over the comfort limit, still bearable. Dell needs to develop some software to let users control the fan so that it turns on earlier, so that the user experiences would be much more comfortable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheFace
(Utah, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Work Horse

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love everything about this machine. This is the second Latitude I've owned, with absolutely no regrets. With the SSD, the i7 flys through anything you can throw at it with plenty more resources to multitask. I haven't overloaded it yet. Only one downfall to the e series is how far forward the docking station sits. If you don't have the extended batteries, it doesn't look quite so sleek. Overall, the computer still gets a 10 on styling and functionality!
Pros:graphics design, photo/video editing, web design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BellyBuster
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Dell laptop yet

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
There is nothing to dislike about the E6410.
PROS:
Fast, sturdy, reliable, great keyboard, crisp display, good driver support, good dock support with E-dock. Ideally go for best spec,but SSD is a good move, as is Win7 64-bit.
CONS:
A little more expensive but you can see where your money has gone.
INFO:
For those reviwers with issues, some of these are easily fixed.
The "nipple" and touchpad come with a bunch of wierd quick gestures - but you can just turn them off. If your mouse moves or clicks "on its own" this is likely your problem.
If you E6410 doesn't wake up from sleep, just install the latest BIOS.
Also, (and this is true for every Dell I've seen) I would strongly recommend just getting the stock on-board (Intel) graphics card rather than a dedicated card. The stock card is pretty capable and the dedicated cards (e.g Nvidia) really suffer with reliability and overheating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Poweruser76
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Win7 64bit 128ssd 8gb ram i7 - rocks

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm a long time Dell laptop user, and our entire operation runs on dell. I almost never review hardware but I recently picked up a referb e6410 to replace a d830 we'd had.
I'm not sure how anyone could rate this machine as less than 3/5. For me it gets 5/5.
In it's dock it drives multiple monitors, chews threw data and is very 'snappy'. It tends to run on the warm side, a result of jamming an i7 in a 14inch notebook.
Everything about the machine is an improvement over dell's designs - less placement of ports. I realize the ports were put ont he side to get the battery further away from the heat. On the D830, the battery is tucked next to cpu/hard drive and I suspect this works to produce a hotter battery and reduce it's life.
Battery life is 6 usable hours. While docked it's a desktop replacement and while on the road a killer laptop. Size/weight/usability rank the highest.
The only thing I'd like dell to do is offer metal laptops. I like what apple does and I'd pay $150 more to get a more durable shell. No matter how stiff the frame is when purchased new 3-4 years down the road they loosen up.
You can buy these machines for a fraction of the price in the outlet. Best machine for the money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisMcG
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid mobile workforce machine

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
95% of my workforce is mobile and so far this laptop is holding up very well to daily usage and being lugged around all over the place.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kertin
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

prone to lockup

PostedApril 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the 5 Latitude E6410 that I bought recently, 2 had problem locking up randomly. Dell agree to service them with refurbished parts (motherboard, hard-drive, palm rest, etc.)
One is from a retail store. Even though it kept locking up since I opened the box two weeks ago, Dell won't do an exchange, citing that the original invoice (to the store) is more than 30 days old.
Had been a loyal customer, have bought over 20 systems from Dell. Only ran into problem with the Latitude E6410.
Suggestion:
Avoid this system. If you have to buy, don't go to retail store. If you do buy one, make sure to test it heavily during the first 30 days.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:B757
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent laptop with a few unresolved issuesL

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've used the D620, D630, and I've played with Thinkpads at a store before. I bought my E6410 refurbished at Dell Outlet.
Pros:
-Excellent looks. It may seem boring at first but it's an excellent, angular design that's quite attractive and unique.
-Excellent keyboard. I have the backlit keyboard and although the feel takes a little getting used to, it's an excellent keyboard to type on once you get used to it. The layout is also great with the desktop-like 2x3 nav block, a rarity among laptops. Personally, I think the Thinkpads have better keyboards with better key cupping (the key surfaces on this is flat) however.
-Useful Fn key functions. Fn-D (shut off screen), Fn-F1 (sleep), and the emulated numpad are very useful Fn combos.
-Port arrangement is great. I appreciate the USB ports on the upper right hand corner, which is THE best location for USB port placement if you use optical mice.
-Three button pointing stick. Huge upgrade from 2-button sticks on D620 and D630s if you're into them(though Thinkpads have had them for a while).
-Fantastic durability. This is why you get a Latitude. Although it feels plasticy, much of the laptop is made from painted/powder coated magnesium alloy and it is sturdy.laptops.
-Loud speakers.
Cons:
-The system occasionally fails to wake up from sleep. The laptop turns on and the fans spin, but the screen remains black. Lock lights and the Wifi indicator is on, but they don't respond if I press the lock keys or if I turn off the wireless switch. I've lost files due to this bug. This is with the latest BIOS (A07) and is still unresolved.
-The pointing stick tends to be a little buggy, especially the middle button scrolling feature. When scrolling, it would occasionally and unpredictably jump to an earlier part of the page. I've also had it act extremely weirdly on another occasion.
-No application key. I don't use it, but it's a con if you need to use it.
-Latch design is not the best. It's tiny and you can get the screen to open a little bit with it quite easily.
-Speakers lack bass, but that's expected without a subwoofer, and it's a business laptop.
-Emulated Print Screen/SysRq, Pause/Break, and Scroll lock keys. They require an Fn combo to activate them, which is a con to some people.
-Volume buttons occasionally fail to work.
Cons due to my configuration:
-Dell 1520 wireless is a slow card. Get the Intel card; I have the 1520 and the wireless is often extremely slow.
-5400RPM HDD is extremely slow. Definitely get a 7200RPM drive, or better yet, an SSD. This is a bigger con since standby often fails to wake from boot, and I'm forced to use hibernate as a result.
-1280x800 screen isn't the greatest. Get the 1440x900. You will appreciate the extra space, and the blacks and viewing angles on the 1280x800 aren't very good.
Pros:home use, web browsing, word processing
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bacondreamer
(Raleigh, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A laptop designed for IT

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been in the computer repair field for over 10 years and encountered my fair share number of laptops with "supposed" IT friendly designs and yet fails to hit the mark. The current Latitude E6xxx series is by far the most IT service friendly laptop I have ever encountered/used. 90% of the components can be reached with the removal of no more than 2-3 screws or no screw removal at all. Dell has also made it very easy to disassemble one for service with the inclusion of a full service guide on their support site. I honestly have never really been a big fan of Dell's consumer line of laptop and have always preferred Thinkpad for business class laptop. The new Latitude series from Dell has hands down won me over with it's feature, overall feel and performance.
Pros:Travel, business, multimedia
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aniruddha Bose
Title:

Dell Latitude 6410

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of the best of Dell products....
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gary6410
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice Computer - However, came with defective drive

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My laptop arrived with a defective drive. A Western Digital 320 GB drive. It would vibrate and hum and ran very hot. After working with Dell on their support line the drive checked out ok on their tests but the physical hum would not go away. They were quick to replace the drive with a Seagate drive and it is MUCH better.
After that, the computer is fine. Runs fast. Keyboard is comfortable. I like the docking station. However, when not docked the laptop will not switch to wireless on its own. I had to find a 3rd party utility software.
Overall, the computer fits my needs well.
Pros:music software and itunes
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kparrow243
(Santa Ana,CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Notebook EVER!!!!! Windows 7 Pro 32bit

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Great Battery Life (6 cell)
Light and Powerful
Vibrant Screen
Slim, Sleek design
Wide Range of Connectivity options
Windows 7 Professional
Easy docking, no problems whatsoever
Backlit keyboard and ambient light sensor work flawlessly
Physical Lid latch
Cons:
Slightly wobbly battery, not enough to matter
Certain necessary drivers did not come pre-installed(Dell Controlpoint System Manager, Free Fall Sensor driver, Bluetooth functionality driver)
Any negative review of this computer you should ignore 100%! This is by far the best notebook I have ever used. I purchased it through the dell outlet and got a great deal. The trackpad is the best I've ever used and I have not experienced any system freezes at all, no matter if it is from starup, hibernate, or sleep. The system freezes other users are reporting may be due to Windows 7 64bit. I find that the 64bit edition causes nothing but compatibility problems so I don't use it nor do I need it. The computer doesn't get hot at all, even after running all day. Negative reviews about system freezes and software compatibility issues come from developers using experimental software, which should not be expected to be 100% reliable in my opinion. The documentation for the computer could be a little better and it did bug me that it did not come pre-installed with the necessary drivers for important system functions (maybe because I bought it from the outlet) but I can handle that, something the average user might not know to check for. Some other reported problems in the system result from the Nvidia discrete graphics driver. I got the system with Intel HD integrated graphics because it's all I need and it gets better battery life anyways. Best thing is it comes standard with a 3 year limited warranty. I also got the E Port Plus to go with the computer and it should be a must purchase to be a desktop replacement. Don’t buy it from dell though, it’s 100 bucks cheaper on Amazon, NIB. All in all, I would recommend this laptop to anybody for durability, reliability, and overall quality. BUY THIS NOTEBOOK!!!!!
Pros:word processing, video/picture editing, internet/email, desktop replacement, college
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jonjomaher
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Brilliant laptop, fundamentally flawed

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this laptop if you need to listen to audio with pops, clicks and huge latency issues.
I bought this laptop as I was so pleased with my D620, however I am a DJ and require a laptop that does not stop music for up to 1 second at a time.
It is such a fast laptop and is a generally complete package with backlit keyboard and is capable of running engineering software such as Abaqus and Autodesk Inventor fine, it is just fundamentally flawed with the sound problems.
Pros:djing, engineering, Travel
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LifeLongDellUser
(Work)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Constant Freeze Up

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have to write fast before this thing freezes up again. sudden freezes started from the moment i unpacked it. i checked all the drivers and updated a few - didn't help. i ran the full diagnostics that took over 2 hours - didn't help. dell support sent me the windows media and had me do a full windows re-installation - didn't help. within a few days of my grace period i threw in the towel and arranged for a replacement machine. its due in 2 days and i will update this post.
i've never had to use dell support before (all my other machines were fantastic) but i hope they pull through and send me a good one. if the replacement continues to fail, i think i'll chalk it up to bad design and a tired old company and not just a one-off defect. ...please done freeze before i finish this post... stay tuned
Pros:software development
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zxcvb531
Title:

Great laptop I5 Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have added lighted keyboard, ran this laptop with 4GB ram from Mac, no problems with freezing as other reviewers, I upgraded to 8GB and still no problems. use bittorrent files, I doesnt get hot.
I think its great laptop, I have had 4000,4150,8600,2@700m,2@300,2@1420,6000,XPS, 620,630, vestro 1400, 6400 ATG, I had only two dell laptops that were half way lemons
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JGOhio
Title:

Ok if you want to surf the web

PostedDecember 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Battery Life, Aesthetics, Size, Expandability
Cons: Hard to find drivers, Lack of support for Linux, Hard to use support site, anyone know how to get the finger scanner to work properly?
In the defense of dell I work on computers everyday as a developer and need a variety of operating systems, however this product is pretty horrible when it comes to support. This computer was given to me as a work PC and pretty beefed up with 8GBs of ram. The i5 processor in my version was rather unimpressive but I believe there is an option to add an i7. I would recommend this option especially if you are using VMs.
I currently have Windows 7 Professional and Ubuntu 10.10 installed, I'll start with the Windows 7 issues because that is what most people will be using. Windows works pretty well, however driver support/disaster recovery is another story entirely. Downloading drivers is a process to say the least. Granted it was from my company so I had no install disks, but come on we are in the digital age! Where is a simple ISO to install all drivers downloadable from your website. The drivers support website is terrible to begin with. I still haven't quite figured out how to get the fingerprint reader working. All of this means if you have any serious issues and are outside of the warranty good luck!
The Ubuntu install process is terrible, and no guidance/support by Dell. Problems include no drivers, the screens blacking out on install (nvidia and IBM chipsets both), and SD card reader does not install (still working on this one but no hint in sight). This leads me to another problem, yo Dell what parts are you using? For example who manufactured my SD card reader so I can try to get information/drivers from the manufacturer?
As computers stick around longer and longer support over the life of the product is going to be increasingly important. This support is severely lacking in the Latitude E6410 and possibly Dell as a whole.
Pros:development, multimedia, virtual machine hosting, internet hosting
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ftelf
(Czech Republic)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Poor quality for DELL

PostedDecember 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just get brand new E6410 fully loaded as my working notebook. My previous two notebooks were D630.
First impression was amazing. But later...
When docked it does not stand well. Moves from side to side.
When typing, the cursor randomly skips and clicks. (About once per 200 characters).
Never wakes from the sleep, every time the system was frozen next day.
Random system freezes, from 2 per day to 1 per 2 days.
Much less robust than D series. The bottom bends when pressed.
Missing context menu keyboard button, why ??? why ???
I have ordered another one for my girlfriend and I'm just desperate if the second one would be the same.
Pros:software development
+7points
16of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TaGordon
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Latitude E6410 for SMB

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Summary : Good machine, fast, solid, does what I need, but disappointed with Backup, win7, port replicator, and overheating.
I needed a machine with power. 80% of my business requirements concern mathematically intensive programs which eat through CPU cycles and need lots of storage. With a CoreI5 cpu, 8Gb ram, and 250Gb hard disk the E6410 does really well, and has been a dream.
The reason I only rate as average is because of the 20% other niggles where I've been disappointed including.
1) Poor backup. Both the Dell backup and the Windows 7 dell backup seem to take ages. Basically I leave backup running overnight, so not a major problem, but still 8 hours to a USB drive seems excessive.
2) I've had loads of problems with Office 2003 and Windows7 64 bit not quite working. Keep on getting "Word has stopped working" errors.
3) Port replicator is not the same width as the laptop. After a while the laptop is not very stable sitting on the port replicator and wobbles from side to side. Doesn't feel robust.
4) You would have thought that partitioning is something windows would have made simple by now. Instead I've found that there is a limit beyond how small I could make my C drive, 150Gb. Very fustrating because I wanted to split my data and system apart onto separate partitions but can't now.
5) Sometimes the machine gets really hot. To hot to touch. I would expect this when I'm running cpu intensive programs but actually it gets hot even when it's just sitting idle, or doing backups overnight.
Pros:software development, email word processing and spreadsheeting
+14points
27of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6410
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:plangner
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Random Freezing

PostedNovember 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the 4th Dell laptop I've owned, and the first one that appears to have random freezing issues that I have so far been unable to resolve with Dell. Supposedly they are replacing the entire system (2 months into things), but based on the amount of similar issues online, I suspect this is a deeper issue.
Pros:work
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
1 2