Customer reviews for Latitude E5420

Latitude E5420

Latitude E5420
3.578 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
3.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 44
17 out of 3057%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E5420
Review 1 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Regularuser1
(US)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad keybaord layout

PostedDecember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Recently I have received Dell Latitude 5240 from mine employer. I love overall quality but hate two things
a) Very bad layout of keyboard. I prefer to use Laptop keyboard for typing. Location of arrow keys and Page up and Page down is worst location. It is nightmare to type a word document. Most of time arrow keys interfere , as result 60-80% a part of word may end up above or below sentences.....I wonder if they tester have ever rest palm on laptop and did typing on keyboard
b) I miss right click windows Shortcut button on keyboard.
c) I have also issue touch pad. I am use multitouch touchpad or vertical and horizontal scrolling section on edges of touchpad. Both of this features are missing from touchpad. It is incovinent to use touchpad
Pros:software development
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 17, 2012
Hello Regularuser1,

Thank you for taking time to review the Latitude-e5430. I have the same keyboard layout on my work Latitude. The retrun key is not where I expect it when touch typing. I did get used to the slightly different layout from my dekstop keyboard. I can now type like tha blazes without looking! I cannot find why we do not include the scroll sliders on the edges of the touchpad. Those would be handy! Thanks for that input! Over all, I bet you get used to the keyboard as well.

Thanks again for the input!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CiprianA
Title:

Problems with i5 e5420

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid a lot for this, the idea is i change laptops for 4-5 years or so, and I thought this will keep working this long, like the previous lenovo i owned.
But it was a wrong choice.
While on battery, my display flickers. It is visible on a gray scale most.
The plastic is very poor quality. Within few months of use, the SPACE key and the palm rest changed to shiny.
Also on CTRL there is an area where the paint went off.
I am sorry I did not find this site sooner, I did no have experience with Dell before, wanted Lenovo or Sony, but I said i'd try a change.
Pros:office applications
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hey CiprianA,

I am sorry to hear that you have not be completely impressed with the build of the Latitude E5420. I definitely understand your frustration.

The palm rest and Space bar are most likely shiny in appearance due to the natural oils on your fingers. As for the display flicker, you should reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we may help find a best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.


If your system is under warranty we might be able to help you. To find out if you are still under warranty, follow the link and enter your service tag. dell.to/QVOQWC

Thanks for sharing your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.

+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JSL22
Title:

This is the worst business PC I've ever used

PostedNovember 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Quite frankly, this thing is a complete and utter piece of trash.
I work for a large company, and this was the excuse for something logical and usable which was forced upon us. It is slow, heavy, oversized, underpowered, and fragile - so much so that I bought a MacBook Pro and only use this when I absolutely have to (expenses, other ERP tasks, etc.).
As a traveling employee, I am embarrassed to use this. Multiple colleagues have damaged it by a simple tap or drop.
Pros:business, Travel, office apps, erp, presentations, vmware, proposals, spreadsheets
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 24, 2012
JSL22,

We apologize that your experience with the Latitude-E5420 was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Our Engineering teams read customer reviews everyday and I'm sure they would take necessary steps to correct any issues with the design.

As far as functioning is concernered, I would request you to get in touch with one of our online Social Media Support teams as soon as possible because they can they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:patriotzhou
Title:

this machine so slow

PostedOctober 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
too slow for a i7 laptop, any idea? HDD issue?
Same HDD on another laptop the performance is good.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 15, 2012
patriotzhou,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Latitude E5420!

There could be various reasons for this to happen. I would recommend you get in touch with one of our Social Media Teams as soon as possible. Please follow the links that I have attached below which will direct you to the desired area of support.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CPDurai
(MA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Complete disappointment

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not my first DELL or Latitude. I have owned previous generation of Latitude model before. And was hopeful of this line of product from DELL. But unfortunately, I am quite disappointed with this model (E5420).
I bought this March, 2012. The first impressions were not that great. Overall very plastic feel – does not feel solid. For a 14” model, the overall size seems larger than necessary.
Within the first month, my webcam stopped working. I bought a 3 year next business day onsite support. After spending about 2 hours with the technician on the phone – update drivers, uninstall, check this, check that, etc – they sent a technician out the next day. The technician fixed the problem – said that the cable connecting to the web-cam had come loose.
Within next 2 weeks, I realized that the built in microphone stopped working. Again DELL sent out a technician and this was fixed.
2 months later, my LCD display stopped working. DELL Replaced the LCD panel to fix the problem.
I do not expect a laptop to have this many problems within the first 6 months.
Other issues that I have learnt to live with.
The finger print reader is almost useless – every time the laptop comes out of sleep or hibernation mode, the fingerprint software would crash and take more than a minute or two to start responding. If you are thinking of quick, secure access to the system by using the finger print reader instead of typing in the password – forget it. It will not work. What is more irritating, even when you are typing in the password, the system would mess up your cursor position (may be due to the FP reader problems?) causing you to mistype the password. Let us say your password is “foobar”, as you start typing, it – after you have typed “foo” the system would move the cursor to the beginning of the entry field, and you would end up typing “barfoo”. So the solution is to wait at least about 30 seconds before typing in your password.
The system has two mouse (dual pointing) options; one is the standard touch pad. This is not very responsive. It is quit touch sensitive, but for some reasons, it will move vertical and horizontally well, buy very sluggish in other direction. Makes me work with external mouse often. Not what I would like.
Overall, I would recommend staying away from this model.
Pros:business
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 10, 2012
Hello CPDurai,


Sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with this machine . Its our bad that this machine could not meet your level of expectations however, we would like to see you being our happy Dell customer once again !
If you need any help , please fell free to reach our support team via

Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@Dellcares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Dell Community forum -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz .

I hope , we can serve you better next time . Thank you for choosing Dell . have a good day !
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ElfyElf
(Garland, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good, but with some problems

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really nice laptop, I got it free with a price tag of $1,300 from a scholarship foundation and I must say I love it, but it also has it's problems.
Pros: Picture Quality, Keyboard, Speed, Backlit Keyboard, Screen Size
Cons: Mouse pad stops working rarely, finger spring scanner fails 50% of time and sometimes it says that it has no fingerprint scanner on it when it is installed right on the laptop, once I turned it on and it say it had no hard drive...., speakers are horrible, and sometimes rarely when playing sound, it does this laggy ugly sound and 50% of the time it freezes with the laggy sound still playing, sounds like PRRRRRRRRRR, also, I'm sure this is Windows 7 fault but, I've gotten over 3 blue screen in less than 2 months, that's more than my windows XP desktop with 0 blue screens and that computer is more than 4 years old. Horrible track ball that I disabled it. Also, the ON/OFF button doesn't do nothing most of the time I press it, also the sound buttons for volume dont even show on the screen when I press them so I have no idea how much volume it has unless I check the icon on the tray manually. And it has horrible USB ports, they're all over the place, looks like a mess with all those cables overcrossing everything.
Overall I love this laptop.
Pros:business, graphic design, college
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Machbow
Title:

Disappointing audio quality

PostedMay 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Reasonable machine. battery life satisfactory. However badly let down by poor quality speakers. Speaker is located under the machine. Muffled and badly distorted and very quiet. Ruins computer for general use.
Pros:internet & word processing
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2012
Machbow,

Sorry to hear that the Latitude E5420 did not match your expectations. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. Do remember, we are listening, please contact any of Dell's Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RegDellUser
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Disappointing

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like Latitude line in the past. Not this one. I got this at work. The first one I got had LCD problem out-of-box. I got a replacement and it works. Two of my complains are: (1) why put PgUp and PgDown next to the Up key? One mistype and you are way off the page (2) with Windows 7, the touchpad on/off does not persist between boots. Annoying.
Pros:software development
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2012
Hi RegDellUser,

I understand that your out of box experience was not good and im sorry about that . However, if you need any assistance i would suggest you to check with our support team -

Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@Dellacares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Dell Community forum -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I'm sure they will be able to look into this and help you further.
Thank you for choosing Dell .
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellant Corp Workhorse! you wont be disappointed

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We used this model Latitude E5420 as our company standard workstation. 300+ so far. 100% working right from the box thanks to Dell's Image Direct. ( if you dont know what this is you are most definitely working too hard. Take a minute a find out about www.dell.com/ImageDirect)
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alok
Title:

this is good one...

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is good one...
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Skitt89
Title:

Linux Support!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Thing works great with Ubuntu 11.10 and Arch Linux both 64 bit. I have a dual boot setup right now and the installation of both OS was relatively painless. Wireless and built in web cam worked out of the box in both OS....Arch needed a little work. Ubuntu does not drain the battery nearly as much as it does on my Macbook. Speakers are load and clear. Im happy with the laptop!
Pros:School, business, lots a streaming media
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Latitude E5420

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros-good performance, nice design and HD quality screen.
Cons-can get a Inspiron with same specs and OS for a lot less money.
Overall it is a good well designed computer for business use.
Pros:business
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pulsar929
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Decent performance, but the screen disappoints

PostedDecember 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
- Good HDD performance.
- Well located ports.
- High res screen.
- Good CPU performance.
- Good keyboard feel
- Bright screen
Cons:
- Screen too small for its size. Why such wide bezel?
- Keyboard too crammed for its size. Why so much space on both sides of the keyboard.
- Poor viewing angle of the screen.
- Unresponsive touch-pad that response well to palm touch (pun intended) but cannot be disabled automatically when a USB mouse is attached.
- No bluetooth.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCusotmer ReviewsAugust 21, 2012
Hello pulsar929,

Thank you for your feedback. We love to hear this because it can only help us to make our products even better. If you need to re-download your drivers for the touch-pad, you can find them here by entering your service tag number: dell.to/MTYvQF

Thank you again.

-SaraT
+14points
30of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Callum1999
Title:

Love this laptop

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I recently got this for a Christmas present and love it!!!! The i5 processor is lightning fast and does everything with ease. I compared this to a white MacBook at school which are the 2011 models which you cant get on the website anymore but for education you can. This has a better built quality to the MacBook and looks better. The sound quality is good i just watched a movie on it last night and the sound is loud and clear enough. The keyboard is the best one i have ever used, the keyboard is even better than the one that came with my Dell Vostro 260MT. We have 5 Dell computers in our house so i will keep cbuying Dell computers as i need them.
Cons
could do with better ventilation and stop fan blowing hard every few minutes because can be annoying for some people but not really me.
Thanks Dell!!!!!!!!
Pros:study, internet, little bit of gaming, multimedia, videos, presentations
+5points
25of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TylerW
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Wonderful Computer for The Price

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a college student, money is tight. When shopping around I looked at both Macs and PCs. I orginally was going to purchase an IBM ThinkPad, until I bought this machine. The keyboard is absoultely wonderful, great for typing those long papers. The computer itself is amazingly fast (even with some of the clunkier old programs that the University requires all students to use). Two weeks after I took delivery of it, the hard drive died, and after replacing that hard drive, I have to say that this has been the best computer I've owned. The battery life is good enough for one to haul it around campus all day without the need to bring a charger. The screen is extremely easy to read and displays colors vibrantly and brightly. The only downside is the brushed metal backside of the display shows fingerprints from the moment you pick it up. All things considered though it is quite the amazing computer for your money.
Pros:college work, digital content creation, budgeting and financial management, software development, writing
+4points
33of 62voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kiddoc302
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Satisfied

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Im amazed at the amount of nit-picking in these reviews. Im a physician using this machine to run my electronic medical record. This laptop does everything a LAPTOP should do. Quiet fan, great battery life, lightweight plenty of screen and great price.
In my opinion, if this machine doesn't work for you, buy a desktop. Otherwise, buy with confidence.
+2points
31of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maven
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Happy but not blown away

PostedNovember 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this as an upgrade to my much loved D630 Latitude. Apart from a better processor, I feel it's been a step backwards.
I am a software developer and heavy user of a very diverse set of applications - from Office tools, Developer tools and servers. I use my laptop on its own and with standalone keyboard and display.
I have the follow issues with this laptop:
- the connectivity ports are situated all around the case which means you have wires everywhere!
- there is a large amount of wasted space between the LCD and the edge of the lid, making the laptop larger than it needs to be
- the edge where you end up resting your palm when using the trackpad is sharp and ends up causing discomfort rather quickly when being used on your lap.
- the fan stops and starts at highspeed rather than being on constantly at low RPMs. This is not so much of a problem when on a laptop stand as ventilation is good but becomes highly annoying when on your lap or on a surface.
- the bushed surface shows finger prints and scratches very easily and quickly
I'd give anything to have my D630 chassis back with E5420's internals.
+15points
46of 77voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ResearcherMan
(Scotland, UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Keep it cushioned

PostedNovember 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
from a technical point of view I'm very happy with this. Bought primarily for extended battery life and not disappointed. BUT. I have found the casing fragile. Minor bumps have resulted in a fractured aluminium casing by the ethernet port and a cracked plastic casing on the LHS of the keyboard. I gave my previous Acer to my son - I miss its substantially more robust feel and after three years of abuse it still does not have cracks and fractures.
So - keep your Dell cuddled.
Pros:applications development
+9points
40of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:engineah
Title:

Very Happy

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: A sleek fast machine - with the e-dock station it now replaces my old desktop/laptop, probably the best thing I've done yet. No more synching. It's been more than fast enough to handle all of my applications (mostly spreadheets, some graphics, office suite, etc). Relatively light, battery life a good 6 hours.
Cons: Anodized brushed aluminum shows fingerprints from the minute you pick it up. The fan cycles on and off and pumps out a fair amount of heat when it does turn on - that took a little getting used to - might prefer a constant fan at a low rpm. I haven't owned a Dell yet that didn't throw a couple of curve balls at me, this one is no exception. But the 2 or 3 minor operating system issues I've had were resolved relatively quickly by tech support or answered in a forum.
+1point
25of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E5420
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SCLLC
(Miami, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Latitude E5420 - No fashion tiger!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am an IT consultant and have gone through a lot of Dell laptops in the past 10 years. This one is by far one of the ugliest laptops I've ever seen. But true to the Latitude family line it performs.
PROS:
- Very fast, especially with memory upgrade;
- Solid chasis. I feel confident it can take a licking;
- Lighted keypad is a very welcome feature.
CONS:
- Surprisingly ugly uninspired design. Sort of a throwback to laptops of 10 years ago. Apparently business users shouldnt care about looks
- Unnecessarily bulky & heavy. Seems the same chasis was designed for a multitude of screen sizes, so my 14" screen & keyboard are surrounded by oversized unnattractive casing.
But it works...
Pros:desktop replacement, it support, general business tasks
0points
20of 40voted this as helpful.
1 2