Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 9

Inspiron Mini 9

Inspiron Mini 9
3.789 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
7
1 Star
6
3.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 73
56 out of 7575%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 9
Review 1 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davyford
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Pretty good little computer

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like it. I got my mini 9 for my birthday a few years ago. since then, its been used and abused and has held up pretty well. it's had some issues, i've had to send it in for warranty service a few times and the ssd failed on me once, sounds like thats a common problem. i have the ram maxed out at 2GB, have a larger aftermarket battery installed in it, and an install of Windows 7 home premium. that setup of mine has made for a pretty good computer. I would definitely recommend getting an sd card for storage, cause the 16GB ssd fills up pretty fast from just the windows 7 install. Other than that, its a great little computer. Highly recommended. If only Dell still made them.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:coolectables
(Willamette Valley)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Mini 9 Really Shines

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
I purchased my Mini 9 on Dell.com several years ago. I have been using it to broadcast LIVE VIDEO to the web for my childrens sports activities and its perfect. Its connections to the internet are fast and reliable. The built in camera works great for Live broadcasting and email on the go. Everyone in my house is able to use it anywhere they want/need to. The bluetooth is spot on and connects quickly and easily.
CONS
To broadcast live I had to upgrade the memory. Everyone in the house uses this machine because of its ease, so I have to share.
FINALLY
If you want portability, performance, and perfection, look no further. This is the laptop for you. Additionally, my kids love it for school and watching streaming movies.
Pros:streaming video, instant messaging, business
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Calla
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great netbook, small keyboard

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought and Hackintoshed my dell mini 9. It's wonderful! It's fast, light, and great for school. The only thing is that the keyboard is small and takes a bit of getting used to. Still though, I knew that before I bought it.
Pros:School
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:schmandy
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

bring everywhere

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like the dell mini..i dont have a problem with it booting up..its about 30 seconds i dont mind or ever felt hesitant..
my ssd died after 1.25 years..didnt buy a ssd because it would cost more to save my netbook than to replace it..( comparing how much thier both worth) ...had to use a ubtuntu loaded onto a USB to boot it up
i can bring it to everywhere..which is really good..i dont have a problem with the smell keys..might be a problem for some people though. i have relatively thin fingers..
another perk i found with this laptop is that because its so light, i can lift up my netbook( with the usb attached ) by only holding the lid and not worry about the lid/screen detaching from the keyboard..after all the lid is prolly 1/3 the weight of the whole netbook, so its very easy to snatch and bring to places..making it even more portable.
i really like my dell mini..wished it didnt "die"
Pros:home, internet
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LuvMgadgets
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

SSD reliability

PostedApril 16, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Mini 9's SSD failed after one year and one day. Others report similar issues. Got a new SSD from Dell, Tech Support talked me into purchasing extended warranty.
Without this concern, the litte fellow would get 4 stars. It boots fairly fast, is very compact and except for the small keyboard I am happy with it.
Pros:email internet surfing notes
+41points
42of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EAOffice
(Maryland/West Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

JeepRider and hard Drive 3 stars

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
These mini are for mobile computing and not intended really to store tons of info. That data should be on a network someplace where you login to connect to data stored there and data you wish to keep is downloaded to that sysytem. You can share on Windows Live then not worry about it.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeeprider54
(Hope,Ar.)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great laptop,Small Hard Drive

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the mini 9 for about a year.Updated memory.Hard drive is tiny. Keep getting warning
that hard drive is almost full.Like the mini 9 though.
Pros:home use
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:piah
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Hmmm

PostedJune 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have just got my Mini 9. Perhaps it is at the edge of elimination in its production line, it is selling pretty cheap now! A very good bargain I would say. However, the keyboard goes faulty and I am going to send it to customer service centre soon! Letter "K" would be triggered if "L" or "J" being pressed harder. Kinda annoying.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Travel, Finances
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EddieLondon
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

just awesome!

PostedMay 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome netbook! Bought two of them, one for my girlfriend and one for me. I've installed ubuntu 9.04 netbook remix and it just rocks! My girlfriend stayed with the customised dell-buntu 8.04 LTS version. She has never used linux before and she's far from a computer expert but she found it very easy to use, easier than windows and way faster.
Pros:
Ubuntu preinstalled and customised by dell!
Design
Open Source software (openoffice, firefox, cheese and so on)
Cons:
No easy way to add to the customised dell menu a link/shortcut to a newly installed application - although you can find it on the standard gnome menu.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Travel, Music & Movies
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:boltonavich
(east sussex)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Fantastic Little Machine

PostedMay 1, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this laptop to use the internet as I have a 17" for all other applications, but after recieving it I have found that i do nearly everything on the mini 9!!!
I opted for the 2gb memory then got a friend to install windows xp just so that I could integrate it with my current system and it works great!
I was using the Linex system for a day or two and found it really easy to use, however I understand that if you want to download programs etc it an get quite tricky.
I tested both the mini 9 and the mini 10 in a store and must say i much prefered the layout and slight size difference the mini 10 had to offer, but for £100 less, the mini 9 was a worth while purchase.
The internet can be quite slow from time to time, but this is probably my connection rather then the mini 9.
Would recommend to a friend anytime!
Pros:Travel, Finances, Presentation
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:selliott
(Galway, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dream Netbook,,, Prrrrfect

PostedApril 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros,
I am just in school and this netbook works great for me. Ubuntu does too. I love firefox and the stellarium. The keyboard is perfect size for me and the screen is great.. Good speakers.. Good looks and weight.. Good webcam. Great battery. Easy to carry it around. Great bluetooth.
Cons.
Some programmes like skype work badly and it is hard to install other software e.g. Google earth. Wont connect to my printer and cant play music from my USB
Pros:home
+39points
41of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jrgc
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Useful micro laptop

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have the 2GB RAM, 16 GB SSD, bluetooth version.
Pro: Good battery life, surprisingly fast (about equivalent to a P4 at 2 GHz in my tests, but the integrated graphics are good and make it feel quicker), plays full-screen 720p h.264 video well, nice screen, works perfectly with Ubuntu 8.10, feels well-made.
Con: Dell Ubuntu is very slow (I reformatted for 8.10 and it's a lot quicker), the keyboard is uncomfortably cramped, wifi needs a closed-source driver and can take 10 - 20 seconds to reconnect coming out of suspend.
Summary: perfect for sofa-surfing, but Dell really need to update the Ubuntu it comes with, especially with 9.04 just around the corner.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Music & Movies
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Blossom552
(Cheshire)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very Impressed!

PostedApril 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this little thing so much. I'm a final year uni student and I just wish Dell had been making these a long time ago, because it's been such a blessing in these last few difficult months. It's so light and easily fits into my bag, which means I can take it to classes and to the library.
I was suprised at how quick it is for such low-end specs (which isn't a complaint, it's exactly what I knew I was getting) and it works wonderfully for everything I need to do. Having an SD card reader is brilliant, as my other much older computer doesn't have one, so it allows me to upload my photos without having the hastle of going to fetch the cable for my camera.
The glossy screen is superb, this is the first time I've owned one and there's such a difference in colour to a regular matte screen. Also the 9" size is no problem at all. Web pages fit perfectly, and I can watch subtitled movies on it fine.
Also I think the SSD is great, it's nice to have a computer that hardly makes a sound. Even the fan is quite quiet.
The only things I think could be improved are the battery life, which is a little too short for me not to need the power cable when I go to the library, even with wifi turned off, and also the right-hand shift key is way to small! I've spoken to other people about this, and they say they tend to use the left one which is of ample size, but for me it's always the right one, and this makes typing a bit tricky.
Pros:Travel, Music & Movies, School
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisChapman
(Guildford)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent little Netbook

PostedApril 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the mini 9 for my partner as a general web browser and light word processor for work. The XP that came with it was a little bloated (6Gb of the available 16Gb, if I recall correctly) but started up nicely. I’ve upped the memory to 2Gb and it’s currently dual booting Vista (Including Aero support) with Office 2007 and Ubuntu 8.10 with no problems what so ever. Its quick, comfortable to use (once you get used to the small keyboard) and a nice bit of eye candy (In the red, Black ones tend to get finger marks all over them). No problems with the wireless or the camera although the screen did have one “dead” pixel. Compared the other offerings I have seen from Asus and Samsung the build quality is excellent. All in all it does not pack the punch of a laptop, but then it’s not designed to, nor does it have the storage of some of the larger netbooks (i.e the 10” ones) but for surfing and annotating it, to my mind, has all the bang per buck I expected or wanted. Looking forward to seeing how it will run Windows 7 which is designed to scale better onto netbooks.
My advice:
Upgrade the RAM to 2Gb whatever your running
If you’re going to use Ubuntu, buy the XP version anyway to get the bigger SSD (unless you indent to buy a bigger one in anyway!)
Pros:
Light.
Well made.
Tactile keyboard.
Good mouse click experience.
Excellent screen.
Sexy as heck.
Mobile phone like charger.
Cons:
Needs 2Gb of RAM to make the most of it.
Would be nice to have the option to upgrade the SSD.
SD/MMC slot could do with a push in/push out mechanism rather than the push in/Wait for finger nail to grow so you can tweezer it out again method.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Travel, Music & Movies, Presentation
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedWithSpeed
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Soooo Slow...

PostedMarch 29, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor at multi-tasking. Screen too narrow.
I wanted something basic for web etc.
Pros:Potentially useful if speed could be sorted out - needs a much faster processor.
Cons:Far too slow to be usable. Screen needs to be 768 depth - 600 is too narrow for web surfing.
+3points
34of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KennyNW
(N W England)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell Mini 9

PostedMarch 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm Surprised To See So Many Negative Comments.
It Was Never Meant To Be A Laptop.
You Pay For What You Get.
Pros:Does What It Says On The Box. Great Machine For Mobile Browisng & Viewing Photos. Pleasantly Surprised With Ubuntu Operating System.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TravelPhoto
(Manchester)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Does Everything I Need It For

PostedMarch 20, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is ideal for travel/leisure when you don't want to take a laptop containing important/sensitive data around, particularly one costing upto 10x the price of this. (I got the £179 deal). I'm impressed with the Ubuntu platform too, having been a Windows user since 1991.
Pros:30 seconds to boot-up. Reasonable software to handle a multitude of tasks. Perfect size for travel. Easily expandable with SD Cards etc. Most surprising of all was ability to view Nikon RAW images without any plug-ins etc.
Cons:Only has function keys f1->f10.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cato
(sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Brilliant

PostedMarch 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I left this overseas, and would have bought another 7" as soon as i returned except that i hear the 10" will be out soon. I will get a 10" when its out with GPS & TV Tuner in it. Bring it on Dell! I can't wait.
Pros:I love this little thing. I went OS for family emergency & this little device was brilliant. I found wifi that other big laptops couldn't even see... i picked up 14 APs while they saw only 1. Great screen, very clear. Fastest response, best running out of all the roomful of mini laptops in Officeworks. Love the SD slot, very useful. Totally recommended.
Cons:Had no probs at all. 16 Gig HDD is a little restrictive but with big SD cards cheap now, its not too bad a prob. I bought this for one purpose, keeping in touch & staying amused while OS & it was absolutely perfect. Weighs very little & battery life great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hughie
(australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

works for us

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
perhaps a bigger HHD, say 50-60gb or so
Pros:it does exactly what we want it to do. Be portable handle all our internet business anywhere we go.
Cons:nothing really too write home about. We needed a portable low cost device to do bookings,email etc from anywhere. It meets these conditions well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron Mini 9
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:andysily
Title:

good

PostedMarch 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
nothing
Pros:not bad
Cons:that's good
-16points
0of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4