Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 10

Inspiron Mini 10

Inspiron Mini 10
4.271 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,161 reviews
5 Stars
612
4 Stars
378
3 Stars
83
2 Stars
50
1 Star
38
4.3
 / 
5
(1161 reviews) 1112
1,037 out of 1,16189%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 10
Review 1 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

A poor excuse for a computer

PostedJuly 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Inspiron Mini is without a doubt the worst computer I've owned. Granted, it is only a netbook; however, that doesn't mean it needs to be so cheaply made that it hardly lasts more than a few months. I got mine in august of 2011, and by the mid fall I was experiencing problems with the charger. The input for the charger is broken and the charger must be held in a specific place to work. I could still manage to get by, but its a pain. As of may 2012 the backlight on the screen just stopped working, so I've had it hooked up to an external monitor. I was going to call to have it repaired after getting back from a vacation, which was today, the computer just beeps at an obnoxious volume when its turned on. I'm done with this computer and probably dell in general.
Pros:personal computer, school work
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnnoyedNY
Title:

Frustrated

PostedAugust 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never written a review before but am so frustrated with dell's customer service I had to write this review. I ordered a mini notebook from Dell. Was not satisfied with it. I felt like it ran too slow for a new computer. Upon calling customer service within the 30 days I was told that I would need to pay a restocking fee in order to return. Upset that I have not seen this before in their policy and not wanting to spend money on an item I would be returning I agreed for the tech to send me an extra GB of memory which I was assured would be very simple to install. To make a long story short, after numerous hours on the phone with a Dell technician and after taking apart my entire notebook to install the GB I was informed that the memory card I received was not applicable to my product. Dell still refuses to refund me or send me a new product. Paid extra for a warranty and now have a notebook that's in pieces since I don't know how to put it back together. I have never experienced such shady customer service. Will never purchase anything from Dell again.
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dmcg
Title:

Great little laptop

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great little netbook my wife loves it! Just right for traveling or just sitting on the couch surfing the net or checking the Email. May be small in size but not restricted in storage space. Would recommend to anyone that wants a small laptop with good features.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PATRAVI
(WA USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

CONA

PostedJune 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
slowest laptop I have ever come across. when i wanted to increase the ram from 1 gb to 2 gb, i was told that there is only one slot, so i have to discard the the 1 gb and buy a 2gb ram.
Pros:Travel
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pcrouch
Title:

Great Small Laptop

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: I have the inspiron mini. I really enjoy its portability and ease of use
Pros:Travel, word excel, email
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LynnDR
(US)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron Mini

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent little computer. Very fast and easy to setup.
Pros:streaming, video, Travel
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBeitz
Title:

Inferior components NO support

PostedMay 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1120 in February 2011. The surround on the keyboard turns out to be PLASTIC. It now has a crack in it and Dell won't do a thing about it. I'm a 64 year old woman and the Inspiron sits on a desk and I use a mouse not the touchpad. Dell insists it is something I did that caused the crack. Could not possibly be that they used inferior quality components. MAD MAD MAD
Pros:surf the web
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Farrbo
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic laptop at a great price!!!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my Mini 10 refurbished from the Dell site. The computer arrived sooner than expected, and looks and performs like brand new, without the brand new price. I've used Dell products exclusively for over 4 years, and own a Dell Mini 9, a Dell Mini 10, a Dell Mini 11z, and my old faithful - a four year old Dell Inspiron 1420 that just continues to run like a champ. Highly recommend Dell and its products.
Pros:work, social
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KerryC
(Haverhill, Ma)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell is the one for me!

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought many many Dell destops and laptops and haven't had any problems over the last 11 years. I buy them for my students as graduation presents and for their good grades and hard work. THere are so many different models that I can customize them for my students needs. I can't say enough about them.
Pros:for night classes, email, enjoying music, work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:James S.
(Flagstaff, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Easily Portable

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Inspiron Mini 10 is a nice and small netbook, prefect for traveling and taking to class. I take it with me to all of my classes and use it to check a lot of online deadlines as well as taking notes.
Pros:Travel, note taking
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FutureMan69
(Hatboro, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great netbook - just needs the right OS...

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great netbook for personal use but it definitely needs a lighter-weight operating system than Windows Starter. That said, I really love this netbook and can't believe how heavy my standard laptop is by comparison...I'll take this mini just about anywhere; and the battery has amazing long-life which makes a huge difference on long trips.
I started this up right out of the box and found what many other users found: the Windows Starter operating system and the installed applications ran VERY slowly...Internet Explorer took a long time to load; just selecting and opening applications really seemed to bog down the system.
That said, I then tried out several variants of Linux to see what would run better: Ubuntu Remix (netbook specific), then Jolicloud and finally Xbubuntu (ultra-lightweight..spec'd for only 256mb of memory). Xubuntu had the best overall performance and comes with a good variety of light applications that really help this netbook reach its full potential. Xubuntu recognized almost all the hardware - had to download a driver for the RealTek wifi card (which is a very well known and documented issue..plenty of how-to's out there) but that was simple enough and wifi performance is outstanding.
I'd definitely buy this again, and I think other users would have a better impression of the hardware if there was a Linux OS option during the purchase.
Pros:browsing, writing, email
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mvreeke
(TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron Duo

PostedMarch 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Inspiron Duo is too slow. The battery life is minimal. Do not buy it. It is a waste of money.
Pros:email, Travel, web, work
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stberhard
(Las Vegas NV)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Stay away from this one, clunky, freezes OFTEN

PostedMarch 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a miserable little computer. I upgraded the RAM from the stock 1 (why did they think that would EVER be sufficient?). Freezes doing the simplest of tasks.
Out of the box the space key was broken, got a new keyboard. Month later now the delete and directional keys don't work. Mouse pad leaves a lot to be desired but after dealing with the other issues here, at least it still works.
And even w/ 2 gigs of RAM, don't even THINK of watching an HD movie. Audio will cut out at least 20% of the time.
Pros:reports, watch movies, surf internet, create spreadsheets
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarieHoag
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Warning--Do not purchase a Mini 10

PostedMarch 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a horrible time with my Dell. I should have payed more attention to the reviews I read about the lack of speed these computers have. I'm about ready to toss this thing into the pool! You can read a noivel in the time it takes to download your email!
I hardly use my new laptop because it takes too long to download anything on it.
Pros:Travel, School, streaming video
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dougt1998
(Rochester, Mn)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been reading the reviews and they are not what I have experienced with this product. I have had 5 dells over the last 10 years, 2 note books, 2 desk tops and now a net book. I purchased the mini 10 net book for my daughter for grad school this Christmas as her note book was too heavy and had too limited of a battery life. I installed a 2G of RAM for her for under $40 and in less that 20 minutes. Very easy to do with a you tube video showing the whole process. Computer saw 2G right away. I uninstalled the extra programs and installed Micosoft Office Suite, AGV and Skype. That took a couple of hours to do. We had to adjust the sensitivy of the touch pad but that was simple to do. She has been using the mini 10 as her main computer now for over two months, running office, word, excel and power point. She has given power point presentations at school using the mini 10 and has no qualms about having her theses on it. She does have a removable hard drive for backup. She has her music, uses skype and email without problems. Has no problems with wifi. The mini 10 has had good battery life and she really enjoys the light weight.
Pros:School, Travel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ArjunGopalakrishna
(Boulder CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:software development, internet surfing, microsoft office
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:alicel62
(Salt Lake City)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am liking the Dell very much.
Pros:internet, download audio books
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Billf2413
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Maybe this may help

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently received the Dell Inspiron Mini 1012. Its cute and compact, but slower than syrup on a cold day. If you have one, or are thinking of buying one (but not for use as a primary or main computer), here are a few things that may help you: The Mini 10 comes with 1GB RAM and 250GB, 5400RPM Hard Drive. Consider upgrading the RAM to 2GB. It only has 1 slot, so you will need a 2GB module. Also consider upgrading the hard drive from a 250GB/5400RPM to a 250 or 320GB/7200RPM hard drive. I noticed that mine now runs 2-4 times faster (depending on the program you're running). You can probably have the upgrades done for you, or you can do it yourself. If you decide to do it yourself, go to Dell's support page and download the manual. It's very straight-forward with illustrations on how to do the upgrades. FOLLOW them as they show, and you'll be OK. Also, a couple of other things: The Mini 10 does not have a CD-ROM drive, so you will need an external CD-ROM drive to connect via a USB port. I suggest that you also pick up a 2.5" drive enclosure that will connect via USB. Before you upgrade the hard drive, you will need a program that will allow you to transfer/migrate your OS and files to the new drive. You can buy any number of programs that will do this (Norton Ghost, Acronis True Image, etc), or you can download one of the freebies such as Miray.com's program. Install or download the program you'll be using on the original hard drive. Windows will transfer your data, but not the OS. The others will. Next, connect the USB cable that came with the drive enclosure to your computer, then to the new hard drive, and start the transfer. Depending on the program you're using, and the amount of files on your old hard drive, transfer can take 2-4 hours via USB 2.0. After transfer is complete, shut down the computer, remove the old hard drive and install the new one, following the instructions in the manual. Next, put the old hard drive into the drive enclosure, and use it for backup. And then power-up and go. The Mini 10 turned out to be a great little computer that can be used both at home, work or school. Don't expect it to whiz around as a full size laptop or desktop does, but all things considered. mine is great.
Pros:work (wp & s/sheets)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pwhalen
(United States)
Title:

Inspiron Mini 10

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this netbook for my husband he has never used a computer before so I thought ths would be perfect for learning and checking emails as well as loading his pictures.
Pros
He loves it, its small and very easy to use. Its fast and just the perfect size for a beginner.
Cons
none
Looking for an awesome computer with great value? Here it is, you will not be disapointed.
Pros:work from home, personal use
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron Mini 10
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Merlin1
(Fresno, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron Mini 1010

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this Mini 1010 for a Christmas present for my son in college. We got the GPS option and was disappointed that I could only get XP with it at the time. After a couple of months of use my son gave it to me and said he just couldn't use it anymore because of the horrible touchpad. He liked the Mini but prefered a larger screen for as much reading as he does. So I got him a Latitude E6400 and kept the Mini for myself. I needed a small portable for daily dragging around and just love it. I upgraded the OS to Windows 7 "with ease" and now it works even better and faster. Unfortunately it did nothing to correct the lousy touchpad. The mouse-click buttons are integrated into the touch surface and most often move the cursor when you just want to click the button. This is a huge inconvenience and I can see no way of fixing the problem short of a redesign of the whole touchpad. When it's critical, I now carry an external USB wireless mouse. I LOVE THIS MINI otherwise and find if VERY convenient for portable field work.
Pros:daily work when mobile, use it like a smart phone, daily work in the field, use for field data transfering
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 56