Customer reviews for Inspiron M501R

Inspiron M501R

Inspiron M501R
4.167 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
14 out of 1878%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron M501R
Review 1 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HKDellUser
(Hong Kong)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Average laptop with below-average monitor

PostedMay 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had Dell desktop and laptops for years. Last laptop was an Inspiron 1501 purchased in USA. This new Inspiron M501R purchased in Hong Kong.
In general, the laptop is very average, which you should expect for the lower price.
But the unexpected bad experience is mostly from the monitor. The specs say: "15.6" (39.6cm) Widescreen HD WLED Glossy Display with TrueLife™ (1366x768)". But the images and text are really bad. Even by simply placing next to the 4-year old Dell Inspiron 1501. It's shocking how low-quality the Inspiron M501R screen is.
Pros:emails and web surfing
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mahimna
Title:

AMD+ATI+DELL a great combination

PostedMay 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i've never used amd processors before.i thought that only intel is the best.so when i thought of buying a laptop i was sure to buy intel's i7 or maybe i5.but than i came across amd's processors.especially i was fascinated by this amd quad core phenom n930,because of its reasonable price compare to other mobile quad core processors in market.the graphic card is also very good.i can play games like nfs hot pursuit 2010,splinter cell conviction,battle field bad company 2...etc (though scc lags slightly sometimes.but it doesn't bother me) on very good fps.and for other multimedia software it works like a charm. so i m fully satisfied with my laptop.
Pros:Gaming, surfing, study
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:j@y'$ tech s@v v y
Title:

It's Simply Superb

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's done it again for me.AMD is always my favourite and DVD RW was my primary need in laptop.no other laptop fulfilled my need in my budget.But inspiron m501r did it for me.So thanks Dell!
Pros:everyday use
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SHUBHAKANT

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dhruv1
Title:

Really HOT!!!

PostedApril 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is really really hot..
I mean when you just look at its specs then you will feel that it would be the best laptop.
BUT
after using it for about 1/2 hr it gets really hot affecting its performance ALOT!!!
I wish DELL would do something to cool it a bit...IF the did then it would be the best laptop at this price.
Pros:Gaming, software development
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Umang Gupta

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vaagstrom
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Inspiron 15R AMD Phenom Quad Core, 4Gig ram

PostedApril 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had this only a couple of weeks but have been putting it through its paces. Things are looking promising. Loaded up/using Adobe PS5 and no problems so far (ie no slow response/crashing). Have also been using as Media Centre streaming music and video to a PS3 with no problems. Have also been using with a guide camera on a Equatorial Telescope mount for Astrophotography. The LED back lit screen is ideal for outdoor use especially in colder temperatures unlike lcd.
Pros: Plenty of oomph from the Quad core processor using N930 chipset. 4Gb ram is plenty for my needs. WLED screen clear and bright. 640Gb Hard Drive
Cons: Battery life not that great. As said by other users underside does get hot. Bloatware (removed easily)
Overall a great package at a sensible price.
Pros:music/video streaming, astrophotoghraphy, photo editing
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cliffy
(Essex)
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best of the Bunch

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought quit a few laptops for work over the years and have always used Dell.
The 501R is probably the best laptop I have bought so far.
The inspiron 6000 and 6400 were fantastic reliable laptops that I was loathed to upgrade from. The new inspiron 15 that I bought recently had mousepad issues that drove me to dispair.
The Inspiron 501R uses the same make as the 6000 series inspiron's and is totally reliable.
I have no issues with the AMD processor and the 4Gb of RAM will run Microsoft's FSX without problems.
The usual Dell bloatware can be removed pretty quickly.
Will be buying another one next month for the missus!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:abhijit m
Title:

1000 times better then any HP.

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Friends, i would suggest Dell to any one who has not yet made the mistake of buying an HP product..(want!!! more information check forums and youtube..)
Dells warranty services, are best and the products meet the best quality standards on quality and reliability.
I would suggest buyers to survey the Internet on best laptops on reliability.. before buying!
+25points
30of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OSSNE
(AGRA-INDIA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

OSSNE

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
the laptop are good but
one flaw which i found was that dell should have offered the laptop with free DOS and without any antivirus..... free DOS
Pros:anination
+9points
18of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMD FAN
(Kolkata)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Buy only if you love AMD

PostedNovember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I primary love AMD for its reliability. I have been using AMD since '97 and it has never given me trouble.
So, I picked this option from DELL (as no other manufacturer in India was providing an AMD option) and after using it, I really cannot complain because I haven't used it for high processing stuff. Even then for a laptop, it generates too much heat after about 1/2 hour of use. I have heard of people facing lap burns and this one will leave some nasty marks! Use STRICTLY on tables or flat surfaces that are sturdy.
PROS
- Its an AMD (and this is not a curse word)
- You get a fully loaded laptop for a price about Rs. 2000 - 6000 cheaper depending on the processor you select of an Intel.
- Good build quality (hopefully lasts).
CONS
- Gets too hot esp. on the right-side (use only on flat surfaces)
- Benchmark readings are too good and looked at it after buying it. Duh!
- Emits low sound at max volume.
- Graphics card offered could be better.
Pros:software development, surfing, streaming videos, music
+35points
43of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tarun sankhla
(india)
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

no free dos with phenom 2 x4 processor laptops

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
the laptop cofigurations are quite good but
one flaw which i found was that dell should have offered the laptop with phenom 2 n930 processor in
free DOS and without any antivirus.....
this would have reduced the cost of the laptop and
would have made it a lot cheaper then what it is
.......i will bring it if it available in free
DOS.....
Pros:software development
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Strapped
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Mixed feelings

PostedOctober 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I upgraded to this laptop when the motherboard on my Inspiron 6400 went kaput. It's a faster and more streamlined machine than the 6400, also lighter which is good for portability, and Windows 7 is a huge improvement on Vista, so for a non-techie like me it gets a thumbs up for functionality.
However, the insertion of a number pad into the keyboard is a huge pain, I didn't think it would be when I ordered it but only realised how annoying it is when I actually got it.
This is the first time I've used a laptop with a numberpad keyboard and it basically requires you to unbalance the machine for any kind of moderate two-handed typing, as you need to shunt the whole laptop to the right in order to align your fingers properly, rather than just reposition the keyboard on a desktop PC.
You end up off centre from the screen and keyboard with a pointless number pad sitting unused to your right. I'd love to meet the idiot who thought this was a good idea - they seem to have done the same with the 15R.
I'm sure I'll get used to it after a while, but for now it's typos and mis-strokes a-go-go, so if you plan to use this for any reasonable amount of typing for emails or docs, I'd go for something else.
+17points
25of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sylnsr
Title:

Not bad

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pretty good all round except if you need a DAW. Sound has bad latency when using as midi controller for instrument. For DAW, stick with a Mac
Pros:games, game design, programming, movies, 3d graphics
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RunForrestRun
(Detroit Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Computer I've Ever Bought

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's done it for me again. I'm a fairly big gamer and it runs Counterstrike Source, World of Warcraft, League of Legends, with everything but shadows (idk of a computer than can run well with shadows that isnt 3000$) flawlessly capped at 60 fps. It's smooth, sleek, and the best buy i've had from dell in a long time. For 750 its more than i could've asked for.
There really wasn't much of any bloatware it took me maybe 10 minutes to get all of it off and i was on the internet 30 minutes after it hit my porch. I ordered it on September 15th and the estimated delivery time was October 12th...I got it on September 26th.
Overall a fantastic computer i suggest it to anyone looking to run games well who's on a budget.
+113points
132of 151voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gadjet
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

WA!!!!!!! M501R

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
DELL !!! the awesome branded companies laptop for just Rs 42,900 !!! with 500 GB HDD !! 4GB RAM !!! 1 GB graphics!!!!!!!! am i dreaming this or something ha !!
I wish i haven't bought the other notebook earlier
but i can do something better
i am telling you
its the best ever
!!!!!!!!!!!BUY IT NOW !!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros:software development, gamming, surffing the net, watching hd vedio, vedio confrencing
-5points
13of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PMD
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great, but has flaws

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is quite powerful, so it could be used for quite intensive tasks and for certain high end games(within limits ofcourse). The screen is also quite clear and the keyboard very comfortable and almost equivalent to a full sized one so it's pretty easy to use as well. The price is also pretty good for it's specifications because of the AMD core.
But there are problems. First of all, even though it's powerful, it just isn't as powerful as it could've been if it had the option of using an AMD N930 processor.
Secondly, even though the keyboard's pretty good, it has a monumental issue where the function keys default to their hotkey functions unless you press the Fn key; this maybe alright except for the fact that you almost always will disable wireless and bluetooth everytime you want to press the F2 key, terrible design flaw Dell.
Thirdly, the finish on the lid maybe nice but it is quite fragile, so you need to be careful not to scratch it.
Lastly, it maybe value for money, or it would've been if it hadn't had the 4Gb RAM card which increases the price by almost 250$ all by itself, I mean what's the point of having 6Gb of RAM when you might not even use it? Seriously, if Dell had given the option of 4Gb of RAM(which is what a typical user might need) then the laptop would've been a lot cheaper probably even with the more powerful N930 processor.
Overall, the laptop is pretty good, it has it's flaws, but they don't dismiss the fact that the laptop is powerful and is good value for money; but if Dell had given more choice for the laptop, it would've been perfect(apart from the keyboard).
Pros:software development, Travel, Gaming, streaming video
+240points
268of 296voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Inspiron M501R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product