Customer reviews for Inspiron 1764

Inspiron 1764

Inspiron 1764
4.04 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
20 out of 2387%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 1764
Review 1 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MK711
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Worst laptop I've ever owned

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an Inspiron 1764 about 2 1/2 years ago after graduating from college. I didn't need much, just enough space for my music, movies and some papers, as I was about to start graduate school. Everything started out fine and then about a year and a half after I purchased the laptop, the fan just stopped working. I had a friend who was able to take the laptop apart, clean the fan, and put it back together, no problem. Well, about 3 months after that I was faced with another problem (as a side note, I was in grad school at the time, so my entire life was on this laptop--papers, presentations, research, etc.): the screen began to go black (but only if I shut the laptop down completely, not if I kept it in sleep mode). I could hear the laptop working--the welcome sound as I signed on, etc., but nothing appeared on the screen. I have bought a new screen and taken it to three different people to have it looked at and they all say it's dead. These people are computer-savvy and they also cannot understand why an almost brand new machine would just stop working. I am enraged and will never, ever buy a Dell laptop again.
Cons:doesn't work ever, poor fan, terrible screen, huge, not worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Christy319
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Horrible product and even worse customer service..

PostedDecember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Dell Inspiron 17 inch laptop that I bought 28 months ago, with an upgraded graphics card and upgraded memory. The monitor flashes off and on continuously during use, this gets better/worse depending ont he angle of the monitor, but never goes away completely. It makes it almost impossible to use at times and is unbelieveably frustrating. This problem began eleven months after I recieved the machine. Since then the motherboard has had to be replaced twice and the graphics card was replaced once. The second time I had the problem the machine was only 25 months old and my warranty was only expired by one month. Because of this it took me nearly two months of dealing with incompetent and rude customer service reps to get the machine repaired. Unfortunately IT DID NOT LAST, not even a month later here I am with the same problem occurring again!!!! There is obviously a problem with the machine itself that is causing the problem, however when I asked dell what was causing the problem, they had the audasicty to tell me that computer parts just go bad for no reason all the time and that is why they sell their extended warranties!! I don't think so! This is the first and last machine I will ever purchase from dell!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:huda
Title:

battery !!

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
i got my inspiron 1764 5 months ago , and the battery already doesn't charge ! what happened !? other than that the laptop works fine .
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlecG
Title:

good, but can be better

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all, the isue with the Fn key it's quite easy to fix (or to change). On start-up, when the DELL logo apears on screen, press F2 or DEL key to enter the BIOS settings menu. Then select the ADVANCED tab and in the new window, go to the "Function Key Behavior" where you just need to select one of the two options available: For those who want to have a normal keyboard select "Function Key First", and for those who use the notebook for media content (video, audio) leave or select the "Multimedia Key First" option.
Getting back to the review, the only issue i have encountered in 2 months since i have bought the DELL INSPIRON 1764 is that when I'm using softwares that demand a lot of work from the Video Board the left lower side of the keyboard is getting very hot, even when I'm using a notebook cooling pad on full power. The hot spot is near between the touchpad and the two USB slots (or the led indicators). I don't get burns on my hands :) but i'm wandering if that's normal or is affecting the Mother Board somehow???!!!!
Pros:software development, movie play, Gaming, browsing
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:techconsumer
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Deal

PostedJune 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop for about 2 weeks now. I can honestly say that I am very pleased with the laptop. I got the 4GB of DDR3 RAM, the Intel i3, and the 1GB ATI video card. The laptop runs very well. Running a virtual machine and doing work in the host OS is a breeze. Linux runs quite well. The laptop with Ubuntu 10.04 starts in about 12 seconds (thats a rough guess). The reason I give it 4 stars and not 5, is that the screen has a bit of horizontal flex and the screen(when closed) can be pressed down quite a lot.. This worries me about how well the screen will hold up to being in a bag with some school books or other items. The price was great though, as I got a very nice student discount.
Pros:web browsing, papers presentationetc., casual gaming, desktop replacement
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xirus
(Louisville KY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 1764 - Great 17" Laptop

PostedMay 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you are looking for a 17" laptop that can be a fast and reliable desktop replacement, this is it!
For around $749, you get a 500 GB hard drive, which is very large and can hold a lot of your photos and videos. There is the NEW 2010 Intel®Core™ i5 - 430M paired with the Intel HD Graphics video card. This gives you enhanced high definition video playback and sharper images and vibrant colors. The display is 17.3" High Definition. It gives you a lot of screen area to play with. There is a Integrated 1.3M Pixel Webcam which is great for video chat services. The picture is clear with little or no need for tweaking it. The 4-Watt (2 x 2W) High Definition Audio 2.0 Stereo Speakers with SRS Premium SoundTM blew me away. This is the first time I have ever been impressed with laptop speakers. GREAT SOUND! There is so much more that I could say about how great this unit is for multitasking, wireless connectivity and its portability for its size, but I would have a 2 page review. Try one out yourself. I am sure you won't be disappointed.
Pros:streaming video, entertainment, home office, social networking
+111points
120of 129voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Playwright
Title:

NICE!!!

PostedApril 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Would like to throw in the word AWESOME!!
My husband is a IT specialist and he purchased this 1764 for me because I'm a writer and also I'm a student at LU. I just have to say that the Inspiron 1764 has made my life great! Still speechless. The laptop is slim, light, great screen size 17, built in webcam, love the keyboard layout with big keys and I just love it. Would tell more but back to work.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Megatron
(NH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Well worth the price

PostedApril 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just purchased the 1764 (i3, 3GB, DDR3, 250 GB), and it's my second day of ownership. I was initially going to wait a week or two before writing a review, but I've already logged-in over 20 hours on this computer, and have a pretty good feel for what it's all about... I also find first impressions are often the most accurate - so here we go...
I should note I did a lot of research on laptops in the $300 - $700 price range, and feel I got a great deal for the money spent.
Pros: Built-in webcam w/ light, numeric keypad, light weight, no cords in the back, large screen, overall value for price.
Cons: Touchpad (camouflage w/ surface area), speakers located on bottom of laptop, flat keyboard.
Recommendations for Dell: Backlit keyboard, more space/height on keys, speakers on top, full res HD 1680x1050 screen, different touch pad (black surface, larger buttons).
For the price I paid, and compared to the competition - zero complaints!
Pros:online business
+54points
57of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Two4True
(Jacksonville, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very nice multi-purpose

PostedApril 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
With Windows 7 running on the i3, this thing runs very well... after removing all the OEM junk, of course.
So far, I am very satisfied with this product. The only thing that I would change is the Function Key layout. Having to press the Fn key to be able to use an F key seems backwards to me, though a multimedia-only user may find it beneficial.
Plus, it runs Linux with very little problem. The big problem being that the number pad doesn't work automatically.
Pros:local/streaming video, school work, software testing, data recovery
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alien2012
(Victoria, BC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Full over view

PostedApril 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ok I have looked at all these reviews so lets look at it fully. The way its built it great. I bought the top line, the only thing I didnt get was the blue-ray drive. The i5 processor is fast making things easy and quick. the graphics at 1 Gb is perfect. I bought the 9cell battery making the computer about 1-2 inch higher at the back which means the laptop can breath and keep it from getting to hot. The mouse I have had no problem with. The fact about were Dell placed the mouse pad is no different then were all the companies put then they are all in the same place. The key board does not make any more sound then any other key board. Sound is fine the fact that the speakers are yes at the bottom and I guess if you have the 6cell battery it may mute the sound a bit. Over all I feel that you get what you pay for. If you want something great pay the extra.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobalou1
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Machine

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This pc is super fast and has a great screen. There are a couple of shortcomings: 1. The touch pad is
centered on the space bar, so, due to the width it is positioned to far to the left for a r/h person for true "laptop" use. 2: the touch pad is real flakey, sometimes it works fine and others it is real sluggish.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steviej75
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

OK...could be better...

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this computer to replace my old 17 inch Dell. I was pretty excited about getting the newer screen. Which is bright and very clear by the way…. HD movies look great. I have the low end i3 chip and it seems fast enough for what I use the computer for. I have 4 gigs of ram and the ATI Radeon graphics card. All in all the computer’s performance is on par and noticeably faster than my old computer. That is the good… Now for the bad… I am really disappointed in the quality of the key board. The keys make the “clicky” sound that scream CHEAP! So sad for such a nice looking board. The keys sound really loud in a library setting-frustrating. Speakers….. They are mounted underneath the laptop. WHAT was DELL thinking? I use my laptop on my lap….and the sound is very muted. And my last gripe is the led lights on the front of the PC. They are facing forward and are very bright at night… so is the power cord which is lit with a blue ring that is always on even when the computer is off. That is why I gave it a score that was good but not great.
Pros:home use, some travel
+40points
43of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Neutrino
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Desktop without the desk

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the i3 model with the €20 upgrade for the extra ram, storage and 1GB graphics card, (you'd be crazy not to spend the extra €20 for all that). I find it has all the speed and functionality of my desktop but without the restriction of having to sit at the desk. It is also much quieter and more energy efficient than a desktop, yet still has enough power to play Crysis at medium detail.
Highly recommended desktop replacement.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lumixguru
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

a really pleasant experience

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop and first experience with windows 7.
I have been looking at laptops for years. was going to buy a Inspiron 1750. Then I saw the 1764.
I am very happy I bought the new model. I am a basic user so the I3 processor was fine for my needs. So was the 4 gig RAM and the 320 GIG hard drive. I need a big screen so I'm glad I picked this over the 1564.Which was more expensive.
Battery life is about 3 hours at full charge,with the 6 volt battery. in extend power save mode.If I had the option to choose I would have liked the 9 volt battery but it wasn't an option. 17.3 screen and the sound of the standard model without the optional sound card is excellent. I had to reinstall windows 7 one day after arrival because the computer arrived with to many partitions.
Dell support was excellent.
If you are a power user I would recommend the i5 processor the nine volt battery and the HD video card. For basic and power users this is a really good choice when correctly equipped.
Pros:internet, word processing
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KSones
(Montana)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love It!!

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product, I have the i5 processor, there is nothing about this machine I don't like. I use it for work and home. Windows 7 is great. My old dinosaur Dell inspiron 1800 will be retired permanently. Thank you Dell for great products.
Pros:work and home, avid photographer
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kikimckenzie
Title:

All is well, well better than well!

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Incredibly happy with everything so far, would have been nice if the option to get it in alpine white was available (previous inspiron 17 was available in 7 colours rather than 3.)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SmallTownWoman
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great computer, great price

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop! I upgraded the video card to the ATI Radeon, and the display is amazing! It is a fast, economical computer. For the price I paid, this computer is even better than I could have hoped for. Windows 7 is good, too. I actually LIKE Windows again! The only reason I didn't give it a full 10 is because every once in a while I have to tap the mouse pad in order to use the mouse. It seems to lock up or get stuck. It really isn't a problem, so I only lowered the recommendation one.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark266306
Title:

Excellent Laptop

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I guess the other buys ran into some bad luck. I received my laptop 4 days after ordering and it is perfect. The i5 processor is very quick, the dedicated video card handles games very nicely and the computer couldn't be more comfortable to type on or use the touch pad. I love the large screen for watching movies and the 9 cell battery provides up to 8 1/2 hours of battery life. The only negative I can think of is all the bad programs that the computer is shipped with. Over 1.3 Gb of RAM being used at system idle. But all of those are easy enough to uninstall using add/remove programs.
Pros:medical school, Gaming
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tu98
(Lewiston NY)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Hard to use, awkward mouse pad / keyboard config

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The keyboard and mouse pad setup is terrible.
The mouse pad is directly below + 1/2 inch to the right of the "N" key. This means that my palm drags across the mouse pad while typing. I have had to glue pads 1/3" in depth around the mouse pad to keep my palm clear of the pad.
The function keys have be flipped. To use the F5 key for example one must hold down the Fn key and hit F5. This is inconvient.
Because of these limitations my wife and I find that this computer is only good for minor tasks like surfing. Trying to do any real work leads to a desire to throw the machine across the room.
On the upside, it is fast, quiet and light.
Pros:net surfing
+1point
29of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 1764
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:leedavis81
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
A fantastic, solid piece of hardware. Screen resolution is maxed at 1600 x 900 (so ignore whats been detailed below) which is just enough to run code / deployment side by side when using it for development. I can also smootly run several virtual machines simultaneously without any performance issues. Running the new i5 chip (giving you 4 cores) makes processing anything an absolute breeze. If you want a machine that doesn't hold you up everytime you launch another application this is for you.
Pros:web development, multiple virtual machines, Video Editing
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
1 2