Customer reviews for Adamo 13

Adamo 13

Adamo 13
4.333 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 18
18 out of 2186%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Adamo 13
Review 1 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Good laptop but missing many essentials

PostedOctober 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
-Great looking computer
-Very thin
-Well built
-Very compact and light charger
-Illuminated keyboard
-Decent performance
Cons:
-No media slots
-No practical video connectivity. To connect to a projector, you need to buy an adapter that is not included.
-Unit turns on while lid is closed (slight pressure to the case activates the ON switch)
-Battery life should be better. In my experience, it is 3 to 3:15 hours.
-Battery and hard drive not accessible
Pros:office and travel
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adam0
(Washington DC)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

I love this machine

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What a shame the Adamo has been discontinuted. I'm not a great fan of Dell overall, but they really created a beatiful thing with the Adamo. I chose this over a ThinkPad and haven't regretted it yet. If they kept up with a durable ultralight, I'd keep buying them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kolivan
(Kazakhstan, Almaty city)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Review Dell 610/620/630

PostedMay 4, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good afternoon Dell!
Sorry, but I have not found the list on the review of laptop models that are used by our company. In our company, I think running more than 5000 people worldwide. And only in our region, we have 10 years of using a laptop Dell Latitude 610/620/630. I like IT specialist would you describe the main shortcoming and wishes.
1. Dell Latitude 610
Minus:
- Frequently broke fixing LCD matrix monitor. Most likely due to metal fatigue.
- Inconvenient adapter on the hard disk that is at work with the hard drive must be constantly removed and dress. Can bend pins hard drive.
Plus
- Convenient monitor mount, which may pull in case of loosening of the monitor over time.
2. Dell Latitude 620
Minus
- Frequently broke fixing matrix monitor. Most likely due to metal fatigue.
- It is not possible to tighten mounting matrix display in the case of loosening it’s time of use.
- Strong heating of the bottom shell.
- Quick dusty air fan and the formation of a layer of dust under the keyboard, which leads to the fan stops and in the future to shut down the laptop.
-No webcams
- Loosening and working incorrectly switch Wi-fi Bluetooth.
Plus
- Easy to work with the hard drive. Removing and connectivity, in contrast to HP notebooks.
3. Dell Latitude 630
Minus
- Frequently broke fixing matrix monitor. Most likely due to metal fatigue.
- It is not possible to tighten mounting matrix display in the case of loosening it’s time of use.
- The fissure in the frame of the monitor in the upper left corner. It happens every second laptop.
- Quick dusty air fan and the formation of a layer of dust under the keyboard, which leads to the fan stops and in the future to shut down the laptop.
-No webcam.
- Loosening and working incorrectly switch Wi-fi Bluetooth.
Plus
- Easy to work with the hard drive. Removing and connectivity, in contrast to HP notebooks.
If possible add in the BIOS to quickly complete hard drive format. This is very helpful for the work.
Pros:office, busness trip
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schlossberg
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bring it Back

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my Adamo just before Dell decided to discontinue it. I think they made a grave error in selling this laptop short. I totally love it and would happily by another one after this one has ran it's course.
A Dell employing stopped at my table in a coffee shop and asked what computer I was using. I told him and he was totally surprised. He immediately wanted one. I let him play with it a bit and hold it. He works in the Storage department so he wasn't familiar with this product line.
Every where I go, I get people stopping and asking me where I got it, how I like it and would I recommend it. I would recommend this over a Mac Book Air any day.
So Dell, please, bring this back and have your marketing team revisit how to sell this. It's affordable and reliable.
I should note that I bought this to replace my XPS 1710 which is still going strong. Since I don't have to run AutoCAD LT any longer, it was time for a change...and I really couldn't be happier. Thank you!
Pros:photo processing, online social networking, multi media, Finances
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnHNYC
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Value Laptop

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got my adamo for 2 weeks now and no complaints. Battery life is low if you watch video (around 2 hours) but I can live with that. Startup for me is around 20 seconds. Right out of the box you can tell this is a high-end product and given I bot it for under 800, this is definitely the best value. Will follow up on durability after 6-12 months.
Pros:streaming video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarkoMoodo
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

How can it be this bad?

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
OK, I confess I bought this based on hype and not research. Of the 4 computers (Acer,Toshiba,Compaq and Dell) I have, my newest and worst is the Adamo. How coud it be so bad and still be sold? Issues... Battery life is non-existant, maybe 1 1/2 hours. The nasty part is that today when it died from a dead battery it did several CHKDSK "check disk" runs on restart and seems to have done some sort of restore? Google Chrome was removed, as was the Norton Identity Safe. What else is missing i do not know. How do you build a machine with such a bad battery and then not have it automatically go to sleep when at the end of it's life? Does Dell think a hard crash shutdown is better? I'd write this off to user error except for the other issues. The keyboard lights up and goes off randomly. Same with the screeen brightness. Up down up down. Ambient light is not changing, but this machine acts like it is. It would be nice if there were some instructions or a web based manual to explain how to control the iluminated keyboard and stuff, but THERE IS NONE!!! So if you think you want to buy one, first try to see a manual off their web site. Good luck! January 2011
Pros:web/email
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UnderratedAdamo
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Most underrated laptop on the market!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
In my opinion, the Adamo is one of only a couple computers out there that can compete with Apple in terms of looks/form factor. Pictures online don't even do it justice, it looks even better in person! The Adamo just looks and feels amazing, every detail is top notch.
One of the most underrated components of this computer is the SSD, it makes everything so quick (startup is less than 30 seconds).
I loved my first Adamo so much that I purchased another one for a family member. Both are the upgraded model (2.13 ghz core 2 duo and 4 gb RAM), and they have more than enough power to do anything other than the most serious visually taxing activities (resource heavy gaming, etc).
Pros: Form factor, SSD, extra little features like backlit keys and ambient light sensor for auto adjustments to the screen, price (literally hundreds of dollars less than its competition, compare it to the 13' Macbook Air for $1300).
Cons: Battery life is only 4 hours on the upgraded model, no CD/DVD drive.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aniki
Title:

Great thin laptop but not durable

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my laptop on 12/29/10 and I was very impressed on how sleek and thin it was along with the presentation.
Performance:
I am a Web Designer so I use a lot of flash programs at once which takes a lot of cpu usage. The processor can handle it but will overheat really fast due to its aluminium casing and lack of ventilation. I wish they would of offered a faster processor option for the hardcore users. It is great for web browsing, office use, and mild multitasking.
Exterior/Interior:
I love the black aluminium casing, very classy and clean.
The keyboard comes in a different font style compared to all the other Dell keyboards. Its a little too flush with the other keys so it makes harder to type really faster without pressing other keys.
The lighting on the Adamo is very well balanced and not too flashy with all the LEDs. And Dell did not go overboard with the placement of their logos on the Adamo.
Ports:
All the ports are located on the back which gives the laptop a very clean look but lacks a SD card slot.
Screen:
Love the glass screen which gives it that flush look. High Definition screen would be nice but oh well.
Durability:
The aluminium case may look sturdy but it will flex a lot if you hold it by its side with one hand. Only 2 weeks of having it, the case is already falling apart on me and in need of repairs.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rstx
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent laptop!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
As of 12/28/10, I have had my Dell Adamo laptop for only 5 days. But this laptop has impressed me so much already that I just can't help myself from writing a public review - a rare act in my book. This laptop is exceptionally good looking and very well built. I would go as far as to say that it makes even the MacBook Air look bland and boring. Every single friend/acquaintance that has seen my laptop has initially refused to believe that Adamo is a Dell machine. It gets noticed everywhere, without exception.
The build quality of this machine is also very impressive. The frame feels strong, polished and inflexible. The hinges hold the screen securely at any angle without any free sway while stationary or being held and moved around. The keys are metallic, on level with the frame, backlit, easily readable and make very little noise while typing. Touch controls for volume and audio/video playback work perfectly.
The LCD screen of the Adamo is widescreen (16:9) format and maximum resolution is 1366 x 768 (true HD resolution is 1920 x 1080). However, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that on Adamo’s 13.4” screen it is perfect for work and video playback. Obviously, lacking true HD resolution any video playback on the Adamo would not match Blue Ray standards. But I found my movie playbacks on the Adamo to be sharp, crisp and very enjoyable.
The Adamo has all of the bells and whistles that you would expect in a laptop of present times – 4 gigabytes of RAM, 128 gigabytes solid-state drive, webcam, Windows 7 (64 bit) and Bluetooth capability. What is not top-notch is the processor (Intel Core Duo), lack of Wimax and NVIDIA graphics. But the combination of Intel Core Duo, Intel a/g/n wireless card and Intel graphics card is more than sufficient for normal usage and just as fast as laptops featuring i3/i5 processors.
In short, I picked the Adamo over the MacBook Air, Sony EA/EB series and Lenovo T410. I am very happy with my choice and in love with my extremely light, thin, strong and beautiful laptop. Do yourself a favor and get this laptop!
Pros:graduate school work, entertainment (web netflix etc.)
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sreekar
(topeka, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very happy with my purchase, best laptop from Dell

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Firstly this is a beautiful laptop and also a perfect laptop if you know the limitations (Not a hard core gaming laptop). Looks are so classy. I say better than Apple laptops. There is no built-in DVD/CD player, I can live with it. I ordered external DVD/CD player separately.
I am surprised when Dell customer care representative suggested me XPS 14 laptop over Adamo! XPS is a good laptop but it is specific for gaming and not a good design. Adamo’s specs as shown below are quite good enough for my requirements, I dont play games on this laptop. It runs quite and won’t heat up at all and almost never hear fan running.
I think Dell should continue this laptop.
My Adamo specs
ADAMO THIRTEEN ONYX
Intel Core 2 Duo SL9600 (2.1GHz/800MHz FSB/3M L2 Cache)
RAM 4GB DDR3
Intel Integrated Graphics, GS45 with 256MB
128GB Solid State Drive
13.4 inch Wide Screen 16:9 720p HD WLED LCD
1.3MP integrated Webcam
Dell Wireless 370 Bluetooth Internal (2.1+Enhanced Data Rate)
I am surprised to see Windows 7 OS DVD along with this laptop and even customer care representatives don’t know this.
It also has MS Word, Excel starter edition free to use (No trial). Starter edition is nothing but the original version with ads so not a problem to me.
Pros
Design, build quality, there is nothing in this laptop that looks cheap.
Display is awesome.
Absolutely quite laptop, fan runs for may be a minute when I use for 2 or 3 hours continuously.
This laptop is quite fast; my specs if you see above are not bad actually.
This laptop Boots up and shutdown very fast. It needs just 10 to 15 seconds.
Speakers are not bad.
Cons
Keyboard is not for hard typing users.
Not an environment friendly packing.
Not a great webcam but I can live with it.
Pros:Travel, movies, browsing, music
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sweepstakeswon
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Ms

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had a chance to test this product and overall happy with it -- 8 out of 10. We're gamers though so for our needs we'll stick with Alienware.
Pros:home
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WindowsStudent
Title:

The Ultimate Windows Machine

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Dell Adamo. I'm a college student, and I purchased this machine over 6 months ago. It's worked perfectly for me. I've had 5 Dell computers to date, and this is by FAR the best to date.
The low-voltage processors are fine for my uses. If you're a gamer, look elsewhere. But if you surf the web, work on Word, Excel, and Powerpoint, and watch movies, this machine cannot be beat. I promise you that.
Battery life is what I expected. Speed is what I expected, or better. And aesthetically, this guy is one-in-a-kind. That's the main plus I've had so far. It's STUNNING, and no one I've met can believe its a... Dell!
The one unfortunate aspect of this product is that it seems that Dell has decided to discontinue it (and all PCs of its kind) in their product line. I wish that Dell would continue to participate in the high-end consumer PC market. Dell will have me as a customer for as long as they keep producing machines of this quality. When they stop (which seems to be in the near future), I'm afraid I'll have to go elsewhere. God forbid I'm forced to buy a Mac, but there seems to be little option for me if Dell can't keep going with Adamos, or their equivalent.
Pros:word excel powerpoint, web surfing email, movies television
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RetiredCPA
(Melbourne, FL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Lightening Fast, Photographic Quality Screen

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
After experiencing the beauty of the new glossy black screens and the wonderfully thin case of the new Garmin Nuvi, I wanted the same experience in a laptop. I wanted an elegant experience and something lightening fast.
This computer has it all!!! I have used it for 3 months so far without any problems. It is perfection in design and function. I still don't know how they put everything into such a thin, but sturdy chassis. The attention to detail is amazing. It doesn't run hot sitting in my lap, which was another requirement. There are a lot of subtle simplifications in this computer.
It only has 2 USB2 ports, which are all that is needed when you add a powered hub and connect it with one USB2 cable. The powered hub sits on a credenza that holds all the other devices I need (scanner, wireless mouse, DVD/CD drive, powered hard drive for backup, Scandisk flash memory, thumb drive, etc. I use the wireless connection to a Cisco-Linksys E3000 Wireless-N Router with a LAN printer and that leaves only the power cord and the USB2 cable to plug in or unplug.
I love the silence of a solid state hard drive. I love everything about this computer. It is an elegant and beautiful experience every time I use it. I have the 64 bit Windows 7 and 2010 Excel/Word/Outlook programs. What a wonderful software upgrade, and everything is so fast. The screen is like looking at a photograph, it is so beautiful!!! It is a whole new world!!! Thank you Dell!!!
Pros:word and excel, wifi connection, photoshop elements
+26points
33of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tam5280
(Starkville, MS)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Replacement parts are nonexistant. Beware.

PostedNovember 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I purchased this beautiful piece of machinery three months ago. As far as software is concerned, this has been the best computer I ever owned.
But then I noticed that the bottom base started to become detached in the front. Trying to call technical support for this model computer is absolutely "fun" because nobody at Dell seems knowledgeable of this computer. After having to send pictures to explain my problem, they sent an onsite person to my home twice, only to have the wrong color base sent to me. Turns out they discontinued the silver/white model and are no longer making parts. So, my beautiful silver and white computer is now paired with a quite ugly onyx bottom lid. So much for the sleek design of my computer...
And to make my horror story that much better, the new onyx colored lid still pops out of place. The palm rest will have to be replaced in order to fix the problem.
Thankfully, Dell is coming to the rescue and is replacing my Adamo 13 for the new XPS 14.
In other words, Dell can and will stop making parts for this computer model soon. And if you are still in warranty and need parts, be prepared for disaster.
Pros:photography, leisure
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mooble
(Austin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my Adamo!

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I couldn't be happier with my Adamo. I have not run any RAM intensive programs on it, but it has been able to do everything I ask of it so far. If you are editing movies, this isn't the laptop for you anyway.
Things I love
1) SSD drive is very fast. Booting up from a powered-off status is almost as fast as coming out of sleep mode. While you lose some processing power compared to i3 and i5 laptops, the SSD makes up for a lot with lightning-fast application load times.
2) I love the backlit keyboard. The keys are very well placed for a laptop and easy to navigate. They have a pleasant feel to them. The lighting is also perfect. You can read the keys under any circumstances
3) It hardly gets warm. I only had the fan come on once and that was with it sitting on a pillow. No worries with it overheating.
4) Quality, quality, quality! I can't say enough about the build quality of the Adamo. It's amazing (considering I paid $768 for it from the outlet). That makes it half the price of the Macbook Air. You can pick this up with one hand in the corner and the chassis still doesn't flex. This is one solid laptop!
5) Trackpad. I wish it was a little bigger, but I have no problems with it whatsoever. Windows 7 also really works well with laptops. There is almost nothing I can't do with a single finger and the trackpad, short of typing.
Negatives
1) Weight. One of the downsides of being so solid is the weight. This is a little heavier than the competitors. While I can still easily hold it on one hand and type with the other, it does wear on the wrist. The edge-to-edge glass is probably the reason for the extra weight, but it's worth it.
2) Battery life. It's so-so. You will have plenty of time if you are using it while commuting or at a coffee house, but this won't be the laptop you want to take on a 15 hour plane trip. This really needs a removable battery. I mean, really needs. It's easy enough to open the case and replace it if it ever dies (assuming they are still available), but you can't do it on the fly.
Conclusion:
Half of laptops are toys, the other half are actual work machines. This is not meant to be a task master. It's an expensive, but very well designed and constructed toy. That's exactly what I wanted and what I got with the Adamo. I just wish it had a 11.5" screen and weighed 1 pound less. That would be my dream laptop.
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanielGarcia
(La Verne, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Uncomparable Sleek Design! Loving my Adamo Onyx!!

PostedOctober 20, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just have to write a review for my Adamo 13. If you're looking for sleek designs, combined with power and efficiency to do just about anything, this has got to be one of the best choices out there! I use it for school (programming c#, c++, and VB .NET), and many more software applications (MS Office Pro 2007, Visual Studio, MS Project, MS Vizio, QuickBooks Pro, Turbo Tax software, Photoshop, and others).
However, I must warn, finding parts for the Adamo 13 can be frustrating! I have yet to find the External Adamo DVD. It is available easily in the UK, but you cannot purchase it here in the USA (they're "out of stock;" and have been since March 2010 when I purchased my Adamo Laptop. I'm using an external Dell usb dvd drive in the time being until Dell can make the Adamo version available again in the USA (an additional expense I should not have to incur). Hence my rating to be an 8 out of 10; otherwise, I would definitely rate it a 9 out of 10 (because let's face it, there's always room for improvement, right?).
Pros:homework, business, work, entertainment, personal
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tpras
(chicago, il)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great thin, light, and powerful

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
after comparing this with Apple, I bought this since I was going to get more for my money. it was half the price and still had the memory/speed, style and lightness. My niece borrowed it and looks like I'm not getting it back.
Pros:School, internet
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Taverman
(Forest City, N.C.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

GREAT

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new desktop and laptop and Mitsibushi 60 inch Tv. I like everything about all of them. The performance of all three is GREAT...
Pros:travel with my laptop, my flat screen is great, sports, movies
-93points
18of 129voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Adamo 13
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product