Customer reviews for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder

Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
17 out of 2085%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Review 1 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveMarrs
Title:

Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder - Super

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Easy to install. Like the extension cable that let me connect to cable and bend at 90 degrees as my portable slides in a tight space. Only complaint is that with a full screen one has to right click to get a a list of options that includes minimize (the minimize symbol should be on the full screen).
Pros:watch cable tv while browsing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nodrog
(MO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Worked within minutes

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Attached unit to computer and loaded software and unit performed well right out the box. I love the ability to record shows and the ability to schedule those without me being there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BEvelich
(Connecticut)
Title:

Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder

PostedJune 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tuner promoted for HD Digital TV needed an additional signal converter box to use. The potential for this additional equipment should be noted as a potential concern in the write up. I would have considered a different unit.
Pros:recreational/ tv on laptop
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wil2012
(Home Offiice)
Title:

TV-HVR-850 TV Tuner

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent TV tuner adapter. For the cost. Easy to setup and manage. Compatible with win 7. Great support from manufacturer.
Pros:home office, home entertainment
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joyceam01
(Kingsport, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Device

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this product. Installation was easy and the program is easy to use. I really apprectiate the fact they included a link for my local cable channel listings.
Pros:personnal tv viewing
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheRightStuff
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome product!!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is awesome to use and plugs and plays instantly with Win7 Media Center. Don't bother with the included disk, Windows will plug n' play this device seamlessly. I love it!!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlienVSApple
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice additon

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the TV tuner for my new Dell media Zino HD PC to use in my living room so I could get rid of cable. This TV tune allows me to watch over-the-air TV signals in addition to internet TV and Netflicks available through the Zino.
Pros:watching over-the-air tv w/o cable
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellcustomer9999
Title:

Great product

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this product to record television shows. It works really well and was easy to install. The only fault is that I have to use the antennae because I do not have cable, and it can easily get disconnected. When using the antennae, make sure it is in a secure location. Otherwise you risk losing your recording.
Pros:entertainment
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KPKuhns
(Pgh, PA USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It'll do!

PostedMay 12, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I found this product to be easy to install, setup, and use. Downside... Windows Media Center doesn't recognize it.
Pros:home entertainment
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KillerB
(Johnson City, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent product

PostedAugust 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This did everything I'd hoped it would which for me was allow me to record video right from my camcorder to my laptop. I have two young children and take lots of video. With the WinTV-HVR 850 all I have to do is hook up my camcorder to an FM modulator and screw in the coax cable. Press play and start recording, it's that easy. It also allows me to record late night TV shows that I would normally miss to watch whenever I want.
Pros:recording family memories, recording tv shows while away
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SBooth
(So. Cali)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice but runs HOT

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, a good buy. It would have been nice to have digital cable support and maybe a remote control. But, the price was right. Also, unless you are pretty close to the transmitter sites, use a higher gain antenna. The telescopic one included is nice for traveling, but limits the performance.
Pros:Small, nice software, good price.
Cons:No digital cable support - only off air digital TV. Runs very HOT.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nirad
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

HD TV in the palm of your hand

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Better have the recommended hardware needed otherwise don't purchase.
Pros:Small, light weight, USB.
Cons:Software provided is clunky.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fryokie
(tucson, arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

great product

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Works better than I expected. Simple to install and get started
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scotty2Hotty
(Upstate New York, U S A)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Exactly what I wanted!!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been unable to schedule timer recordings as of yet. This is probably my fault, not the product's.
Pros:Compact size. Reasonably priced. Seems quite durable. Easy to install and set up.
Cons:None
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SADIS
Title:

Expensive Junk

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell also sent "gift cards" worth $145 since I spent so much $$---of course you can only use $70 at a time, so it's worthless unless you need memory or cables.....
Pros:Didn't take up much room in the dumpster.
Cons:This came with my laptop (at a premium), and was the primary reason I paid 2 grand for the big system. Not only does it not work, but 6 hours of tech support and letting someone run my computer from India (or wherever) did nothing but mess up the rest of the system. Thanks, Thanks for nothing.
+15points
21of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JDThird
(Sturtevant, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works as it should

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works great for people who want HD in windows media center without having to foot the cost of a certified system with cable cards.
Pros:I use Media Center, so plug and play and no software to install. Supported by media center so no need to run their software.
Cons:none
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Missoula, MT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Little TV via USB

PostedOctober 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The included software like I said is a bit clunky. I prefer Windows Media Center once I had it installed and working.
Pros:Easy to setup and Install. Good picture Quality.
Cons:Software included is a little clunky and less intuitive than I'd like. I've since just used Windows Media Center (I'm on Vista) and find it much easier to use/navigate/record. The included HD Antenna didn't work great, but that just might be cruddy reception.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarKon
(Irving, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Semi-easy to set up. Antenna signal is excellent. Cable sig is also excellent. Win Media Center works best for selecting channels. Don't care to watch movies on my 15" screen; watch them on my bigger 42" flat panel.
Cons:Antenna directional setting is quite critical, of course.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigPaul

PostedJuly 14, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
For a product almost $60 I expected more.
Pros:It records shows when you program it to do so. It is very easy to set up and program.
Cons:The picture quality isn't as good as I expected it to be. The picture flickers from time to time which is quite annoying and frustrating.
+44points
45of 46voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Win TV-HVR-850 Hybrid Video Recorder
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product