Customer reviews for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock

Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock

Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
4 out of 850%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Review 1 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bjhol
(ID)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works as advertised!

PostedJune 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great for keeping laptop safe in the dorm at school. Secure and affordable.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Craig3f2
(Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Lockdown Mode is true

PostedMarch 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am afraid the comment on lockdown mode and the lock needing a locksmith to release it is true. I got the same advice from Tech support at Kensington Europe. They will apparently refund you and replace the lock. I prefer not to use the lock because of this crazy feature! I am most annoyed as this does indeed seem stupid and is not what they advertise. However check it out if you are still unsure but do so before you get caught out.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fotwentytime
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Kensington lock.

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read the review about the red dot appearing "in the lock" when tampered with. I cannot even see a place where a red dot would appear. That would make no sense anyway. Almost any place which would require a lock would not be a good place to have to leave your laptop and wait for a locksmith. A moderator should cut that post. This lock seems great for the math tutoring center at the local University; or at any place where you can keep the honest people honest. Most kensington lock connections are a plastic part of the housing anyway. If someone wanted your computer that bad she would have it anyway.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ldb01
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Locksmith must remove if tampered with

PostedMay 21, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Good security features, cable length provides allowance for larger fixtures.
Cons:If tampered with, the unit enters lockdown mode, a red dot appears in the lock, and the key will not fit. The only option for resetting or removing is to contact a professional locksmith (confirmed by Kensington). This would be extremely frustrating if sitting in the airport or at a customer site.
+48points
48of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johnpa
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Combination dials froze

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Compact cable and lock
Cons:The third time I used this lock the combination dials stopped working. Since this happened while it was locked in my laptop to a desk in a hotel room I was quite upset. After 30 minutes of desperately trying to get the dials to turn and twisting the lock around it came free of the laptop (without unlocking). So, not only does this lock not work, it does not protect the laptop from theft. I do not recommend this product.
+10points
21of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:birdie77
(Cleveland, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Not compatible

PostedFebruary 17, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons:Make sure you check to see if it is compatible with your laptop. I bought it since I read that it is compatible with 99% of laptops, but found that I was wrong. It doesn't work with the Inspiron 1521. I have to return it now.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LLLLL
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Laptop lock

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Long enough to use in all locations tried. Works great, keeps my laptop safe!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kensington Microsaver Laptop Lock - security cable lock
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bilbo
(Seattle,Wa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I would recommend it

PostedSeptember 17, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Affordable,compact, performs well
Cons:none as of yet----new
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.