Customer reviews for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black

CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
3.191 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
3.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 18
11 out of 2152%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Review 1 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SueHaines
(Dallas, TX)
Title:

Docking Station not great

PostedJune 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This docking station isn't the greatest. It is difficult for my computer to recognize it and some items connected to it. It takes a long time for it to recognize my monitor and keyboard, and will not identify my mouse usb connection. My usb hub is also not recognized, so part of what I purchased it for - doesn't work. Thinking about returning it.
Pros:connecting other peripherals
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davidmurky
Title:

usb 2.0 docking station

PostedMay 25, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a quick way to hook up extra plug-ins
for my laptop, this dell product was a great idea,
i can use this docking station or use my laptop
anywhere as well.
Pros:development
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GiniKathleen
(Eugene OR`)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Cables on the go

PostedApril 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have tried abd tried ti get this to work with my studio laptop and the only thing that will work is the mouse and keyboard. It will not work with the 23 inch monitor or the printer. I am very discouraged with this docking station for my studio laptop.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eckerman
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Not Compatible with Windows7

PostedMarch 11, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not have working drivers for Windows7. Supplied CD did not have appropriate drivers, so installation froze. Downloaded new drivers from Cables to Go's web site, and product would not install properly. Made a few attempts and got the USB hub, keyboard and mouse working but never got the video portion to work. Returning this to Dell to get something that's compatible with the OS
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Larry12345
(Leander)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Waste of money

PostedMarch 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This docking station does not work as advertised. I bought it at the recommendation from the Dell Chat line. I contacted Dell chat after installation and he could not resolve problems. Problems include both keyboard and mouse are slow and even lock up at times, requiring computer reboot. Finally disconnected docking station and hooked components directly to laptop.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:idkdea
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very nice dock

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works very well for what it was purchased for. I found it very intuitive to connect external devices, easy to setup these devices.
Pros:home
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GAP67
(Spring, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 19, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not function like other docking stations I have owned in the past. Not conveinient at all.
Pros:home office
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lmdeford1234
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very small but works well. Excellent product.
Pros:streamline connectivity
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eagle773
Title:

Not worth it

PostedMay 7, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does what it is supposed to do. Works with my Windows Vista. It is a mess on my desk with cables running everywhere. Cables come out of both sides so it does not sit neatly on a desk. Have to connect the usb and the video and the power suppy and the speakers to the laptop. Easy to set up, pain to use. Save your money and by usb hub.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Solutionmeister
Title:

this is what you need

PostedApril 17, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Can't take it anymore with dock shortcomings for inspiron and studio? what you need is this: Toshiba PA3542U-2PRP Dynadock USB Laptop Docking Station with DVI Port -dvi/vga hi res vid pass thru -digital audio pass thru -ethernet, serial pass thru -6 port usb 2.0 -Vista 32 AND 64 bit compatible -toasts and butters your bread in the morning google it! you will be happy again!
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bearlythere
(Northridge, Ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Obsolete

PostedDecember 1, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Inexpensive
Cons:uses old PS2 connections for mouse & keyboard - did not work properly with Vista - I would highly recommend just using a USB Bus instead of this product
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KGLA
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worked great with my Dell Studio Laptop

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Provide PS2 connections to use with a KVM switch
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pancho
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Think before you buy!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used an old fashioned docking station with my Latitude laptop for quite some time and I thought that this would be somewhat similar although clearly not as easy to use. I found out, however, that it provides no value added over a powered USB hub if all your peripherals are USB and you're on a wireless LAN. If that's you, I suggest to just buy the hub and save money.
Pros:Does everything it's supposed to do. Good build quality.
Cons:Remember: It does not provide power for your laptop. You still need to connect 2 cables (monitor and USB). If you're on a wireless network and don't use the Ethernet port and your peripherals are all USB, you will save a bundle by just buying a powered USB hub as you will make exactly the same connections as with this device.
+45points
46of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tiffany13
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

OK, does the job

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Haven't used the video connection yet but i do plan to hook up an external monitor eventually. Installation with quick to connect ethernet and printers, with exceptions of mouse and tablet errors.
Pros:The Ethernet port good connection at 100 mpbs and the 3 USB 2.0's.
Cons:Is not compatible with my Logitech wireless mouse or my Wacom intuos2 tablet. or vice a versa. Which was the 2 main reasons I wanted the docking station when i'm working at my desk. Oh well. Wish it was vertical vs horizontal would take less space on desk.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mb03
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Close Enough

PostedApril 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this for a portable upgrade for a family member. Greatly reduced clutter and aided by providing additional workspace on the desk.
Pros:Easy to connect and set up. Software was easy as well and integrated perfectly with Vista system
Cons:Could use additional USB ports
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MWBB
Title:

I am surprisingly delighted

PostedMarch 31, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I read every review for replicators and thanks to them, chose this one and am really delighted with how well it works. No glitches. Load the CD and all the drivers are set up and everything really did run great from the get go (always a shock for me) and my secondary monitor is doing great with it. Total plug & play made easy as can be. And they shipped it in 1 day.
Cons:If you need it to have more than 3 USBs you can buy an extender, which I did and it works great with that.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Micheal
(San Francisco Bay Area)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
My major problems have been with Vista. It seems to have a lot of problems with USB devices in general. I do not know if these problems are directly related to the docking station or to Vista itsef, but will get a clear picture after service pack 1 is released.
Pros:The docking station can be used with different laptops and be shoved to the back of the desk just have the 'Y' connector cable taking up room.
Cons:Must connect and disconnect power and data cables to use the docking station (3 in all). I don't have much problem with the repeated connects and disconnects of the power and USB, but I really don't like to abuse my video connector this way (it's too easy to bend one of the pins.) In addition, it would have been nice if there was a place to plug in audio jacks (speakers/mic) and have the staion convert it to usb (my solution was to go out and buy a separate audio to usb converter.)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Atom
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Cables to Go Docking Station review

PostedMarch 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased an XPSM1530 and wanted a docking station, I purchased the Kensington SD200V Notebook Docking Station with Dual View and was totally disappointed because it limited the resolution that could be displayed on my external screen. It had no PS/2 ports - horrible. This is definitely a better product!
Pros:I am able to have dual screens and it does not limit the resolution on the external screen. I am able to plug PS/2 Keyboards / mouse, has ample USB 2.0 ports, Ethernet
Cons:None so far
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for CablesToGo USB 2.0 Laptop Docking Station with Video - Black
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product