Customer reviews for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens

Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens

Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
4.9 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
9 out of 1090%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Review 1 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:klmmicro
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best "walk around" lens I have found yet -

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Of the lenses that I own, this one spends the most time on my camera bodies. Whether on full frame or cropped sensor, the images this lens produces are spectacular. It is wide (and sharp) enough at 24mm to shoot landscapes, especially on an FF body. Its other trick is it is tight enough for nice cropped pictures when at 105mm. The construction is rugged and it has the weather proofing to match that which is starting to become standard on most of the newer Canon DSLR bodies.
The image quality that this glass is able to produce is phenomenal. I find the images to be sharpest from f5.6-f11, but wide open aperture or stopped down all the way creates perfectly usable images. If I have a complaint about this lens, it is that f4 is a bit slow for low light work and it forces one to shoot wide open with higher ISO. In a normally lit room, I find that I shoot mostly 3200 ISO with IS on when using my 7D body so that I can stop the lens down a little for better DOF. 2.8 would have made this the PERFECT lens, but as it stands, it is amongst the greats presently.
The one other area that causes pause when considering this lens is price. It ranks as very expensive in the world of hobbyist shooters, and a moderately expensive lens in the realm of prosumer lenses. This is an L grade lens, with all of the advantages that come along with the label. These lenses hold their value and I consider them to almost be investments. There are plenty of cheaper lenses out there that produce great images, but this one creates just that little bit extra that help my photos “pop”. Well worth the price.
Pros:walk around, commercial
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:saelho915
(Sulphur Springs, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome Lens!!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this lens to add to my collection for my photography. This is the best lens I have by far! It is a little pricey, but I think it's well worth the money. I wanted great pictures & this does it! It is a heavier lens, but well worth the extra weight. it comes with a little bag to put it in & also a lens hood. It does take a little longer to focus on close ups, but not a big deal. I definitely would recommend this to anyone! :)
Pros:photography, personal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lawengler
Title:

Great All Purpose Lens

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great lens. It replaces my 24-85. Image Stabilization give you sharp hand held photos. This is not a small lens but it is my favorite.
Pros:general photography
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:naveed
(Fargo)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Lovely all rounder

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent all round lens. I decided to buy it for a canon 5D Mark II. It is weighted well and matches the camera body in that regards. Controls are smooth. No lens creep.
I am very satisfied with the quality of pictures it takes. The constant F4 is nice to have. Although a 2.8 would be excellent, but then the price and weight would go way up.
Pros:general purpose
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:waynew
(KY)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
My wife and I both love photography.
We have a bunch of lenses, both Sigma and Cannon L.
This has to rate as the best all around lens in our collection.
If you can only afford one Cannon L, get this one.
Pros:general photography
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic Lens

PostedNovember 5, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish canon would make the same lens in f/2.8 or faster. I'd be the first in line to purchase such a lens
Pros:This is a fantastic lens that produces very sharp images. The autofocus is blazingly fast. I use this lens in just about all of my wedding photography except for the ceremony. Its very versatile and perfect for anticipation, formal and reception shots. I usually switch to a faster lens (70-200 f/2.8 IS) for the ceremony. Overall, I couldn't ask for a better all around lens. ..
Cons:Unfortunately, its just not fast enough for low light conditions. However, it is still a fantastic lens when used in well lit conditions.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JDOGZ
(Spokane, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fantastic Lens

PostedMay 16, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
First L series lens I have bought and I have zero regrets. Canon makes great stuff and this lens is no exception. The quality of the pictures on my XTi compared to the included lens are night and day - no matter what the lens, it is the talent of the photographer and the composition which really matter, but this lens will help you take your shots to a whole new level. I cannot comment on the comparison to the 24-70 f2.8L because I don't own that lens, but I believe the image stabilization on this lens makes up for the 'slower' glass - if you need a really good low light lens and don't want to use a flash you might be better off with the 24-70 f2.8L, but the extended range of this lens is much more worth it in my opinion.
Pros:Great sharpness, contrast, color. Lens has a fantastic usable range which covers most common walk-around picture taking. Build quality, autofocus, image stabilization are amazing.
Cons:Kinda pricey (but you get what you pay for) - Would be awesome if it had 'faster' glass - f2.8 would be nice.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LeahM
(Lexington, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love this lens

PostedMay 16, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Canon's sharpest glass to date. Perfect range for walk-around and portraits. This piece of glass will never leave my camera.
Cons:NONE!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zrz333
(BRIIKLYN, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMarch 6, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
overall optical quality & IS make this a sweet L lens
Pros:Best image quality you can get from a zoom lens at this focal length, maybe the best in Canon's line (its MTF chart reads better than the 24-85 f/2.8). f/4 across the board is pretty fast, offers decent blur. IS acts like a handheld tripod; I stopped bringing my tripod with me on shoots. Focusing is sharp and fast.
Cons:f/4 is too samll, made it f2.8 will be better.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon EF 24-105 mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dasmb
(Albany, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best walkaround lens, but expensive

PostedMarch 5, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you never plan on going full frame, the image quality from the 17-85 IS is very good and it's wider and lighter. You could easily get that AND a telephoto zoom for the price of this lens. It's all about what best satisfies your need. As for me, I only keep two lenses in my bag: a walkaround zoom, and a normal prime. This is the best walkaround zoom for my type of shooting on the market. I got a sweetheart deal on this lens and the 10-15% improvement in the sharpness of my sharpest shots makes me very happy.
I say sharpest shots, because this lens is going to illustrate deficiencies in focusing and stability you didn't know you had.
Pros:Glass is nothing short of stellar. High contrast, sharp images with no discernable distortion, very very low chromatic aberation and I seem to be getting better detail in dark areas, too. Focus is blindingly fast and silent. Both zoom and focus are silky smooth with perfect resistance. f/4 gives decent background blur at all focal lengths, though this is not quite a portrait lens. 24mm is just wide enough for me (105 is a great street zoom, too) on an APS-C camera (XTi), would be awesome on full frame. IS means no tripod necessary, even when shooting indoors (provided your subject can hold still). I've got crisp shots with shutter speeds as low as 1/10. The red line and gigantic lens hood will impress friends and passers-by. This lens looks as tough and professional as it is.
Cons:It dwarfs the XTi. You'll need strong hands for this one (and to make use of the IS). Chances are, you'll need a new camera case. If you do sport or event shots indoors without a flash, you'll probably want to get the 24-85 f/2.8 instead. Image Stabilization will NOT help you with a moving subject, it's just a virtual tripod.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.