Customer reviews for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M

Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M

Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
4.125 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.1
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
8 out of 8100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Review 1 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robh3
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL S2240M

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wow, great picture, super simple setup. This a really great monitor for the price. The only thing stopping me from a 5 Star review is the lack VESA or any other mounting option.....
Pros:great picture!!
Cons:no vesa mounting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cherv
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Better than the other LED monitors

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Before buying this monitor I had experience only with CCFL monitors and one LED monitor from ACER. Definitely this is much better that the ACER one but as a LED monitor it does not come close to CCFL ones. I know that the CCFL emits the same light spectrum as the Sun itself. About LED I am not sure...
Pros:good looking, lightweight, looks reliable
Cons:led backlight, low build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fanofjagr
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great monitor at a great price!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great monitor for everyday computer usage and also for video playback. Very nice color depth. The monitor came with a bundle package so the price was right! The only reason i did not give it 5 stars is that although the price is great, they should include all needed cables. They advertise it as a HD monitor but do not include the HDMI to DVI cable, only a vga cable? What would it cost them to throw in a cable to actually use the monitor as advertised? All in All a great monitor and highly recommended!
Pros:great color, fantastic picture, great price
Cons:no hdmi to dvi cable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Penman
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Deserves a 5 but...

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First, the comments about poor text rendering on some of the other S models dumfound me. If you write for a living, this is the best medium priced monitor since the SONY HS-P series, which rendered clear, clean crisp text. Someone in another review mentioned, and I agree, that users were probably running it at less than the recommended resolution. At max resolution, it's among the best. But...
For the life of me I don't understand why Dell's engineers did not fit this with a VESA mount. What were they thinking? Even if their idea was to create a desktop (literally) monitor only, it simply sits too low on the desk and violates all the ergonomic advice you can read anywhere about how to position monitors for long periods of work. I found a VESA adapter on EBAY. Ordered two. If they work, I can mount two 2240s on an Ergotron. If the adapters are garbage, then I'll have to build two platforms to raise the base 5-6 inches from the desktop. I've already got a crick in my neck from looking down at the monitor. Com'on Dell, why give us half a loaf?
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gabe1972
(Western New York)
Title:

Warm, crisp picture. Overall great monitor.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from an SE177FP, so of course there is really no comparison. The picture is beautifully crisp and I find that the warm color preset brings out the most vibrant colors on almost any site I visit, without being too vivid. I was afraid that going from a monitor that ran at 75HZ to one that runs at 60HZ might bother my eyes, as the 60HZ setting on all of my previous monitors gave me a headache after a short time from that high speed flicker, but with this monitor it's a perfectly smooth picture. Would I recommend this to anyone? Absolutely. For the price, this can't be beat. And always remember one thing. You may find a similar monitor at Wally World or some other big box store for a smidgen less, but you don't get the customer service that comes with buying a Dell product. It is fast, courteous and dependable. Get this monitor and you won't be disappointed. Perfect size.
Pros:web surfing, occasional gaming, occasional dvd viewing
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adobepro
(Staten Island, NY)
Title:

Very Nice Budget Glossy Monitor

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this from another retailer on sale (not dell.com,) and for a budget glossy monitor (I still prefer 16x10 / Anti-Glare 1920x1200 24" displays for work,) it's really, really nice! esp. for media playback. I currently have this in a triple monitor setup (alongside the Dell 2405FPW and U2410.) At times I think I should have gotten the S2740L, but I think I'd rather get two of these, than just one for the same price, esp. if one fails, I have a backup. The only 3 minus points I have for it is: 1.) it doesn't have a display port, so I have issues running it with DVI to HDMI connector to my GPU, as the GPU is already using the VGA/DVI for the other monitors, so my GPU is running higher clock/voltage because this is running off HDMI and the sync is at 59Hz and I can't set it to 60Hz no matter what setting I use (Windows or NVidia, they say 60, but it's still 59Hz) and 2.) I know it's a budget monitor, but I'm sure everyone would spring a few extra dollars if that's what it takes to have an adjustable height stand and 3.) Wow, could they have spaced the cable connections any tighter in the rear? It's REALLY cramped.
For any Dell techs out there, what would you recommend to clean the screen? Is the screen glass with coating or just glass? I heard on a forum, someone scratched their S2740L using a microfiber cloth, so I not sure what debris could've been on the cloth or monitor already, but it's pretty difficult to scratch glass, so I assume it's coated? Regardless, what can I use to clean it? I'm thinking of using a Rocket Blower to remove dust (like I do with my camera sensor,) but what about sneezes/fingerprint smudges/coughs?
All-in-all, it's a great monitor, and I highly recommend it -- just keep in mind, it's a very high glare monitor, almost mirror-like, not semi-gloss, but ultra gloss, so it might not be for everyone or a good choice for certain rooms/setups.
Pros:media playback, web browsing
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ajkiller
Title:

The Best Monitor IPS Full HD 21.5 on the market!!!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best monitor IPS Full HD 21.5 you can find on the market, perfect for gaming or watching movies, just the image quality is above any other monitor!
Pros:dell s2240m
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell 22 Monitor - S2240M
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnotherEngineer
(Ontario Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

S2240M Review

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro's
-small pixel pitch makes for sharp image
-eIPS panel, nice colors and viewing angle
-low power consumption
-decent value
-gloss panel (no sparkly anti-glare coating) makes for sharp images
-led power indicator, mild green on and amber sleep and its a soft light and overly strong like others.
-slim bezel (about 12mm or 1/2")
Con's
-no display port (-1/2 star)
-dvi cable interference (lack of space on back)(-1/2 star)
-no vesa mounting (-1 star)
-glossy (reflections can be bad depending on conditions)
-no fully ergonomic stand (-1 star)
-menu buttons not on front where they are easy to see
-no service tag on it
Overview
A nice clear sharp picture, with good colors and viewing angles.
Mine is revision A00, manf. Date July 2012, made in china (TPV electronics Fujian)
I got this on sale, as basically a trial. It is a decent monitor.
If this had either a vesa mount or a fully adjustable stand and display port, it would make it even better. I would purchase another 3 for an eyefinity setup if it did.
I knew most of the con's going into the purchase, I really would have though it would have had vesa mounting option though.
Pros:Gaming, cad, streaming, gernal use
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 22, 2012
Hi AnotherEngineer,


Thank you fro sharing your reviews with us . Your feedback is valuable and make sure we will pass it on to our product team .

Besides , i hope and wish you all the best. If you need anything hit us up @DellCares in Twitter –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Or Facebook-
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ


Thank you for choosing Dell !
-6points
10of 26voted this as helpful.