Customer reviews for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt

Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
2.892 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
15
1 Star
28
2.9
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 88
44 out of 9347%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Review 1 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adelmannot99
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inferior products

PostedJuly 14, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:The power adapter works for the requisite length of the manufactures limited warranty.
Cons:After only a years use, the power adapter begins to lose its grip in the main port and slips out with the merest nudge of the computer. The plastic casings that surround the area that connect the cables to the main body of the power adapter dry out and crack, which causes the adapter to ground and present connection and start up problems. The grounding problems are difficult to diagnose. Despite its effective workability during the warranty period, the power adapter has a relatively high price point. Dell might consider either lowing the price, considering its short life span, or upgrading the materials that go into the manufacture.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nawnaw
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Keeps Breaking!

PostedMay 2, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my computer in January '07. That summer, my adapter just stopped working. The little green light went out and my computer would not hold a charge. Fortunately for me, it was still under its one year warranty. So after talking on the phone with Dell for a while and describing what happened, they sent me a new one. Fastforward to April '08: the wire is now exposed and fraying. I tried fixing it with electrical tape and that worked for about a day, and now its stopped working completely. I don't mistreat my products (especially after what happened to the other one), so WHY DOES THIS PRODUCT KEEP BREAKING!? There is no reason for it except poor quality products. Now I am trying to find a new adapter once again. I'm not happy with this product at all. And I'm hoping to get this problem situated before my finals!
Pros:Um none?
Cons:Its one problem after another!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vern357
(Wa state)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

3rd one in a year

PostedApril 14, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:It works good while it works.
Cons:I am on my third one in a year, super poor quality, they just stop working with no sign or warning.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shannonmm
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Adapter

PostedApril 11, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:None.
Cons:I have had to purchase a new adapter for my laptop three or four times in the last two years. The grounding prong fell out of the first one, while inside the wall outlet. The adapter on the next burnt up. The latest one has a broken cord (the plastic simply cracked).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Laura123
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Should be less expensive!

PostedMarch 25, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:It works for awhile.
Cons:I just had to buy my 3rd dell power cord in 4 years for my Inspirson 600m. The most recent one just stopped working completely. I would plug it into an outlet and it would only charge my computer if I used my hand to hold the power cord 'just right', which would render it nearly impossible to type. These power cords should be less expensive because they don't last long enough to make them worth it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EvanPJ
(Buffalo, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ok

PostedMarch 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Work fine, does the job
Cons:Tends to slip out of the back of my laptop, very annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inspiron6k
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Power supply

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast shipping received at door 2 days after order. Works as described
Cons:Only slight complaint is fits looser than old supply and so pulls out easier but is not a problem if you watch out for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Vinita, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

It's broke again!

PostedMarch 24, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:None
Cons:I rated this with no pros because to do what it is supposed to do is not a pro. I have a Inspiron 6000 and replace this power supply at least every 6 months. It just fails. No power surges or anything. Just dead.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pujolsLVR
(St. Louis, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

new purchase... my stupid mistake

PostedMarch 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This battery charger has definately worked very well for me. It has taken falls off of my bed for the last 2 years (my dorm bed... a good 3.5ft fall). Just keep the wires away from the recliner... the recliner tends to cut it... >:l
Pros:Easy to wrap up, toss in your bag, and go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:belle2
(Needham, Ma)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

adapters

PostedMarch 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:it worked like it needed to for a while.
Cons:after a little more than a year it stopped charging my laptop. it powered my computer but it didn't charge the battery. i had to keep it connected to stay on because whenever the adapter fell off or was pulled of my computer turned off. it's also big and bulky. and costs too much if it's only going to last for a year or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TaraH
(Fort Worth, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Horrible!!!!

PostedMarch 19, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:None
Cons:I've had 2 of these with my xps m140 in the last 2 years, and I'm here buying yet another one!!!!! It just stops working, will not charge anymore. The price is way too high for something that does not last! I love my laptop for the most part but as it is I can't use it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MARGARITTE
(ELIZABETH NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

WE NEED A BETTER DESIGN FOR THIS GUYS

PostedMarch 4, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:WORKS
Cons:WIRES START TO FREY CAUSING CHARGE TO DIE. i'M ON MY SECOND ONE AND WOULDN'T MIND IF THEY WERE AROUND $20.00. AS FAR AS MY LABTOP GOES I LOVE MY ISPIRION LAPTOP 700M. I TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD WITH IT AND IT IS THE BEST INVESTMENT I'VE EVER MADE. I WISH IT WAS CALLED THE INSPIRON 700 MARGARITTE
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBGreen
(Carpentersville, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Power Adapter - it works fine!

PostedMarch 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
my original charger stopped working after 2.5 years so I had to get a new one. Would be nice if chargers became sleek and slim for easy transport... but this one works just fine.
Pros:slightly lighter than the original
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Suthngal
(MISSISSIPPI)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Third adapter in 3.5 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased 3 computers from Dell: 2 desktops and one laptop. When my best friend called to tell me that she was going to buy a laptop from Dell, I told her to beware of the AC adapters; because I have had a horrible experience with them just going out.
Pros:None!
Cons:Price is too high for a product that does not last as long as expected. This is my third adapter that I have to purchase for my 700m, which I bought in 2004. This product needs to be reconsidered, because 3 adapters in 4 years is RIDICULOUS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lolni
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Works great!

PostedFebruary 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very compact and works as it should. Seems costly but is very reasonable compared to universal power supplies from national chain stores.
Cons:The entire unit is a bit bulky and the cord could be a bit longer. It's sometimes hard to see the green LED lit on the power supply to verify that it has power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cswhitley
(Shawnee, OK)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Another Quality Product from Dell

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The adapter's small size makes it extremely easy to move from room to room. It is lightweight, and also has a long cord that allows for easier movement. The best feature is that it charges the battery while using the laptop, and it makes the screen much brighter and easier to see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JHK876
(nj)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works well

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
See many reviews about the lack of longevity for this product. I've had my original power supply for almost 2 years with no problems. Hope this one lasts 'cause it cost a small fortune.
Pros:Powers up my laptop
Cons:Bulky, heavy and pricey.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dennis57
(Muncie, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This is a great replacement for a lost adapter. I had the one that came with the computer for 2 years without any problems, then lost it. So far, this one is working wonderfully!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mikeinillinois
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love the Dell laptop but this product makes the laptop less of a bargain than it orginally appeared. I will not buy another the charger is redesigned.
Pros:When it works, it works.
Cons:Two of these have died in less than one year. Use the product daily. First one still powers the laptop but will not charge battery. Second one, less than 3 months old, is suddenly completely dead, makes a faint high frequency squeal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - Power adapter ( external ) - AC 90-135/164-265 V - 65 Watt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IamNotHappy
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Number 5

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told from the tech that these are only expected to last 1 year. I can confirm that.
Pros:Consistent performance?
Cons:I am purchasing my 5th power adapter now since 2004. Like clockwork, these things die within 12-15 months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5