Customer reviews for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude

D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
3.5 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
3.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
5 out of 862%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Review 1 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevCMH
Title:

Locks PC often

PostedJanuary 16, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons:Undocking via PC or station will often lock the PC which will require a hard reboot. No help online to correct.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBJB
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Great Value

PostedNovember 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The DVI connection with a LG Flatron L227WTG monitor is fantastic - exceeds anything you would normally have for screen quality with a laptop and most desktop systems.
Pros:Extremely easy to install and setup. Was up and running in minutes.
Cons:The only thing I could criticize (if one is to get really really picky) is the size of docking station as compared to other port replicators, but then the overall quality/performance of this docking station is the difference between this product and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dell54321
Title:

D/Dock

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Docks not compatible with older computers even though spec said they were.
Pros:None
Cons:Docks caused USB failures on my Latitude D420 computer.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wobble
(Janesville, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My Opinion

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The purpose of this docking station is so you don't have to plug and unplug all your accessories. I had an additional 4 position USB plug which gives me enough ports. The aligning of your laptop to the docking station is a snap. It is nice that I can just unhitch the laptop and not be bothered with connecting and unconnecting connectors.
Pros:Super easy alignment for my D830, DVI output which I need for my 22 inch monitor, Monitor can rest on top of this D/Dock, Has it's own built in power supply
Cons:Has only 3 USB ports, the 4th USB port is designed for external DVD player which I use. It needs 2 more USB ports.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wizard0001
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not very economic

PostedOctober 12, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Works fine for home use and has all the necessary features.
Cons:Needs more USB ports and most of all...needs to be more affordable. I have one at home and would love to have one for work, but it's just not very cost affective. I think this product is too expensive, so I won't purchase another one and won't recommend it to anyone, for that price.
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CmmGuy
(Anaheim Ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

D/Dock Expansion Station

PostedJuly 24, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I used this station so that I would have a PCI slot for my laptop. I needed the PCI slot so I could use a interface card to communicate with a cmm. The unit worked perfectly.
Cons:Nothing I could find so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shermaro
(Washington DC area)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good but could be improved

PostedJuly 2, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Works fine with D630 although not listed as such. Solidly built, reliable, direct 130W AC input. Hot docking and undocking work reasonably well although not perfectly.
Cons:USB ports are too close together. Many USB connectors and devices are too thick and can't be connected to adjacent ports
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D/Dock Expansion Station for Select Dell Latitude
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kronos
(Columbus, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good features and build, but not without its flaws

PostedMay 28, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
=This is rather strange, but when the laptop is docked, the rear exhaust port on the left side of the laptop gets covered up by the docking station! The air just blows straight into the front of the dock. I'm not sure if this hinders cooling, but it causes dust buildup on the dock.
=I dropped the screw for the PCI slot cover into the PCI bay. It took me an hour to pull the whole docking station apart to retrieve the screw. This is very hard to pull apart.
=An audio-in port would have been nice.
Pros:+There are many connectivity options available, which is the main purpose of this product. +Solid construction for durability. I can't imagine something breaking on this any time soon. +Works beautifully with Windows XP and almost as well with Windows Vista (some quirks with Vista).
Cons:-Some PCI cards were incompatible, defeating the purpose of having a PCI slot. -The footprint size of this unit is good by itself, but when a laptop is docked, it's very long from front to back. It barely fits on a standard office desk, and a keyboard will only fit on the desk if I angle the laptop/dock into the corner. It might have been better to design this dock to fit a little more under the laptop instead of behind.
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.