Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dell.com.

Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor

Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
4.537 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
4.5
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 92
87 out of 9592%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Review 1 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Corkin1
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice Monitor but extremely fragile!

PostedApril 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I spent $1400+ on one of these just under 3 months ago.
The monitor took the lightest of bumps and now the LCD is broken, and im told its not covered under warranty, and Dell does not repair monitors. My only choice that has been given to me is to purchase a new one for the full price.
Really wish the accidental damage insurance would have been offered to me when I purchased it.
Now i've got the most expensive paper weight i've ever had, and won't be able to afford paying for a new one anytime soon.
I've been in IT for 12+ years now, and working with hardware all the time, not once have I ever had a monitor break from such a small bump. Can't say i've ever had one break from any kind of bump and I manage around 300 PC's.
Not impressed with this.
Pros:great picture.
Cons:very delicate, breaks easy
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 17, 2013
Hi Corkin1,

As we both know, accidents are bound to happen and it is unfortunate that a small bump, as you describe it, caused the screen to crack. I know that smaller screens are pretty rugged but maybe as they get larger they get more fragile due to shearing strains. It is true that we do not repair monitors but only offer replacements for warranty claims. Here is a list of several sites (not associated with Dell) that may help you get this monitor repaired. I hope my response here can be of some benefit!

http://www.lcdrepair.com/
http://www.ercservice.com/
http://www.shopjimmy.com/dell
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stacyDraper
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

These are awesome

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have three of these and they are all awesome. I have an nvidia video car and use the grid lines a lot. Two monitors I split in half. Another rmonitor I have out look 1024 wide, a browser and Skype 1154 wide and the remainder for linq. The display is beautiful, I look at the monitors all day long, some 16 hours a day.
I can see two word documents side by side and I see the whole page. All 10 google results, no scrolling, I don't know how it would be if the video card didn't have grid lines.
When I turn off the monitors they don't always all come back up so I have to got back to preferences and extend the desk top again or I have to reboot. When I use goto meeting everything flickers for a long time. I don't know if this is a monitor issue or video card issue.
Screen sharing requires some thought because nobody has a 30 inch monitor
Pros:lots of connections, usb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maxus
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Most Amazing Thing

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am Animator and VFX compositor. This monitor supports great with sRGB which is usually true film color. I compared its color with other monitors and to the film. This is more accurate than others.
Also in matter of clarity and response, this is master piece.
Pros:vfx artist
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:XtremeUser300
(Sudbury, On)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product Works well

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Revision A08
I've been using this monitor for one month. Very happy with the purchase. It replaces a 7-year old 24" monitor which ran at 1920x1200. This maintains the 16:10 aspect ratio while nearly doubling the pixel count. Makes using all my application software, games and web surfing much better.
Con: Consumer grade video card (AMD (ATI) or NVIDIA (or Matrox or Intel, etc) don't support 10-bit per colour channel output to the monitor. You need a Workstation or better card for that (ie: NVIDIA Quadro or AMD Fire Pro)
Pros:great for fps and other gaming - no visible lag!, greatly improved productivity, improved gaming scores - see opponents more easily
Cons:no pivot capability, specs should reccomend suitable video cards, 10-bit colour requires a workstation video card
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gelbkreutz
(Boston, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I have three of these 30 inch monitors and it boosts productivity

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
with over six ft of monitor I can read 18 pages of Word docs or 45 powerpoint slides at one time. It has enabled me to work paperless
Pros:productivity, color quality, supreme commander2 in eyefinity!, multitasking
Cons:expensive
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jnight
(Newfoundland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Monitor

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the best monitor I have ever bought. Mostly used for gaming however it is excellent for AutoCAD as well when I need to bring some work home with me.
The only let down really was a I bought it when it was at full price, only to realize it drops down to $999 all the time. If you want this monitor wait for it to go on sale, unless you cannot wait. It is worth it, hoping to have this monitor for many years.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:appleforlifenow
(IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Missing Cables Ruined the experience

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Monitor came fast but without the Display Port or the Dual link DVI cables, instead with a VGA and a single link DVI cable, so now it sits on my desk collecting dust, I bought the monitor to use it at it's max resolution, not VGA
All in all a bad experience I spend my morning chasing the cables
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 27, 2013
Appleforlifenow,

Sorry to hear about your issues with your new U3011. Unfortunately, this monitor ships with only the cables listed above. If there is anything we can do to help you out, please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you. JGB
-23points
1of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveU
Title:

Great monitor

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Packed with features, ive yet to work out all of them yet.
This is the best monitor I have ever had, with heaps of real estate, fantastic colour accuracy and response time.
Buy it now.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanBellsouth
Title:

Dell U3011, Would I buy it again?

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell U3011 is considered the Cadillac of all 30 Inch monitors and for the most part it has earned its position.
Pros: Large sharp display, More inputs than just about any other 30" monitor. Very flexible, supports: Dual DVI, DP, Dual HDMI, VGA, built in USB hub, optional sound bar. Nice quality, good stand. Factory color calibrated and probably one of the most accurate color reproduction in the industry.
Cons: Since it's not LED backlite the brightness is not optimal when coming out of suspend. Slow to sync to PC video card signal, as a result you usually miss BIOS options upon bootup. Some Backlight bleedthrough on dark screen (not bad though). For some reason the DVI connector from the monitor must have a voltage presence on it as my PC's memory fans run very slow even though my pc is powered down.
Expensive!
Bottom line, would I purchase it again? Yes, but with the following caveat, Since I have a limited desktop area and did not have the area required for dual monitors the 30" was the only solution. If I had the space I would have gone with dual 24 or 27" Dell monitors.
Pros:Video Editing, document editing, programming
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bigscreen2012
Title:

WOW!!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Prior to purchasing this monitor I conducted extensive research on both 27 and 30 inch IPS Full HD monitors. I primarily wanted a monitor for (bench work) photos and occasional PC gaming. The available selections for a 30 inch monitor where only available from 4 different manufactures. The Dell U3011 was the most reasonably priced but with quality I would expect from spending $1000.00 dollars. My initial assessment of the rich colors/ sharpness of the display is “WOW”. The 2560 X1440 display is amazing, my photos, PC games and blu ray movies are eye catching. This monitor has wide viewing area that allows me to place 2 photos /next to each other for editing/ without the need of an additional monitor.
I’ve read prior reviews where customers had various problems with this particular monitor/Pixels/brightness, however this monitor is Version 08, so I assume those initial complaints have been addressed by Dell. I think that 30 inch monitor will be eventually replaced by 27 inch IPS monitors. / I base this assumption on the idea that 4.8 inch cells phone appear to be the limit on size that customers accept / The 27 inch appears to be the Price and Size point that most customers will accept.
Overall great buy, excited about possibly purchasing additional screen.
Pros:photo editing, pc gaming, Gaming
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveNJ2012
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great image, struggling with connectivity

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this monitor to use with a new Mac Mini. Connected via a Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort cable and all was great; wonderful color, very clear, overall excellent.
But a few days ago the DisplayPort connection stopped working; the monitor insisted that there was no signal coming from the computer. I re-connected via HDMI and it's working (albeit at a lower resolution) so the monitor and Mac are both working, so it's something with the DisplayPort connection. I've read some posts on the Internet that refer to this, and suggest that specific startup and connection sequences are needed, rebooting the monitor, etc, but I've been unsuccessful thus far.
I've ordered some new cables and DisplayPort adapters and will try various combinations, but for now I am struggling.
So, 4 stars; great image and color, but some connectivity headaches.
Pros:home office
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alex23
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Best!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Thanks Dell, this is a Great monitor for Graphics, customer service was great to support and place my order!
Pros:architect
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:psauseda
(Chicago IL USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Horrible!! ~~> Dead Pixel within 1st 24-Hours

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
I placed an order for this monitor last week. Only to have it "lost" or not entered into UPS system so essentially it was AWALL for 2 days. Finally it got scanned and came in Friday 9/28/12
I hooked it up 9/29/12 and today not even 24 hours later it has a DEAD PIXEL (see picture for proof) so as of 9/30/12 it already a problem! you would think for this much money that we would get a pixel free monitor<-- If I had a choice i wouldnt buy this over.
Pros:software developement, photo editing, Gaming, Video Editing
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 2, 2012
Hello Psauseda,

I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your monitor. Dell does have a display pixel policy (dell.to/U6wU1L). I looked into your case and I see that you have already contacted technical support and they were able to set you up with an exchange. I hope that once you get your new monitor, you love it. If you have any questions about your exchange, feel free to reach back out to us. We are available over the phone or online:
• Tech support Forums:
http://dell.to/NjitjY
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/OO2MDG

-SaraT
-10points
15of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tigerboy
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Best Monitor in the World

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
This monitor is the best one in the world for the features it offers. The colors are vibrant and beautiful. Perfect for day to day use and for entertainment - video, photography and gaming. Yes, Gaming works fine on this monitor but you need the power to do it and get maximum benefit. I am running a Serious Gaming Rig with a EVGA GTX 690 at 2560x1600 and BF3 & DIRT 3 keeps up fine on this monitor. I am not experiencing issues with FPS or Ghosting.
The complaints of the Anti-Glare Matte Finish are way over done. It is a function of monitor brightness and the problem goes away for colors like white with more brightness. If the monitor were clear and shinny, yes the colors would be fantastic, but you would have a hard time looking at it and seeing all the reflections in the room from behind you if you did not have it. I have a HAF X case sitting to the right of the monitor. It has a window that has red glowing LED fans and lights inside and the reflection does not show up or reflect on the screen and that is a good thing!
The monitor adjusts easily for up and down and tilt. It only requires finger pressure. The menu driven monitor adjustments for movie and gaming. And you can spend hours fine tuning it because the amount of adjustments are available.
Cons
It is really big and the base is really heavy and stays put. It is hard to set in place, but once it is, it doesn't move.
Price! Did I really spend that much on this monitor? I did and do not regret it one bit. I don't have anything to complain about, this is the monitor you want and will think about if you don't get it.
Pros:Gaming, internet surfing, office work
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JIB515

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Amazing color and a great set of features in the menu! Best monitor i have owned.
Pros:web design, Gaming
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JetBlack
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great monitor. It's as simple as that.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Let me start by saying that I bought this to play games on. Now with that in mind the response time on this is fantastic. I can say I have seen a very mild amount of ghosting on this screen, but that has only consisted of TEXT moving IN game. ALL other edges I have noticed no problem with. This includes movies and any other video you may run on this screen.
I have no problems with this monitor, though I can understand ans see the antiglare coating problem that other reviewers have mentioned. This is not an issue for me though. I would recommend this monitor to anyone who wants a large format display that understands that it comes at a price.
Pros:Gaming, casual use
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cdntrader
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Jaw Dropping Color - Best Purchaser Ever

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
A great product all around. Makes my other monitors look like junk.
PROS: Color, Sharpness, Stable Base, Connectivity options, Solid Construction, Easy Setup, OSD,
CONS: Thickness. Would be great if this thing was as thin as the new monitors out this year, but perhaps its necessary for the outstanding picture quality.
Definitely makes me feel like using a desktop again!
Pros:movies, trading, audio/video editing, streaming video
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:QProf
Title:

Excellent Monitor

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this April 25, 2012 and has been a great buy. No dead pixels, quality of the screen is amazing. I am a technical teacher and find this to be an excellent product. Use it for CAD, 3D Parametric Design, Photoshop, and gaming with X-Box. Only one minor issue, not sure if is an issue but sometimes when rebooting, the screen goes into a mosaic of colours, hard to see the screen output, but when windows kicks in, everything is fine again. I haven't not talked to Dell about this as I have not seen it as a major issue - probably the monitor is stuck in a high res mode or something. When I cold restart it, I don't see this problem occur. I was able to get it on sale at the time so, keep your eye on the sales, it comes out every-so-often. In-fact it is on sale right now, so if you are on the fence, it is a great buy, if money is not tight, great monitor anyways.
Pros
Resolution, quality, style, ease of use, electronic controls/sensor, angle of view, lots of brightness adjustment range
Cons
Not seeing any, short of price, but for what you are getting, amazing - get on sale and even better!
System Summary:
-Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus, QuadCore Q6600, CORSAIR XMS2 2GB *4
-AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series, Dell - Ultrasharp U3011
-ASUS U3S6 PCI Express USB 3.0 & SATA 6 Adapter
-OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 120 & 240GB, Maxtor 500 GB *4
-Thermaltake Toughpower 750W, Antec P182 Atx Black Case
-Windows 7 Pro 64
Pros:3d cad, video editiong, photoshop, Gaming
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bobhill
Title:

Almost Perfect

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Probably the best quality 30" monitor available - you will not believe how beautiful everything looks.
If you are a gamer, make sure you have sufficient video horsepower to get adequate frame rates. I have a new single nVidia GTX 680 card and some more demanding games need to be dialed down in quality to be playable.
Cons:
If you watch HD movies on line (think Netflix), you will need to change the resolution to HD (1920 x 1400) or you will note a lack of sharpness at native resolution.
My previous Dell monitor had PIP (versus PBP)so I could watch TV from a separate input in a small window. This monitor has Picture By Picture so your only option is 1/2 screen computer display and 1/2 TV with lots of unused space top and bottom - and the PC display is really small and hard to work with.
Pros:home
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - UltraSharp U3011 30-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chrispop
Title:

BIG MONITOR

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a BIG Monitor. At 30" and 16:10 ratio, there's a massive amount of screen real estate. It's so big that I had to change my gmail prefs to white text on black background to ease my eyes. It's also 30+ lbs. so forget hanging it on any standard monitor arm. I have two 21" monitors flanking it and it makes them look downright small. Color and temp control are adequate but not great. Inputs are fine but you're only going to get the highest resolution using a display port. It won't happen from SVGA or HDMI. Extra USB ports are helpful but SD card inputs are too far back for my use. Side monitor blocks access. My desk is about 30" deep but I'm seriously considering getting something a little bit deeper as I'm finding if I lean in the screen is just too big. Price stung a little at $1,300+. Dell offered no discounts even after I asked and I do have a premier account but que sera. I really like the 16:10 and higher res. I couldn't find that on a 27" model like I'd originally hoped to buy. I don't know that there's much else out there on the market that can compare to this beast.
Pros:web design, professional writing
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5