Overall Rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
Features 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
Performance 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Value 
2.6 / 5
2.6 / 5
1,219 out of 1,43885%of customers recommend this
Overall Rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
Features 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
Performance 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Value 
2.6 / 5
2.6 / 5
1,219 out of 1,43885%of customers recommend this
Product reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Have your say
Overall Rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
Features 
3.6 / 5
3.6 / 5
Performance 
3.8 / 5
3.8 / 5
Value 
2.6 / 5
2.6 / 5
1,219 out of 1,43885%of customers recommend this
2,671 Reviews
Customer Product Reviews
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HamidH
(Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: Alienware 17 R3 owner
Posted14 December 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Bought my alienware 17 r3 on july 2016 and using it for over a year the laptop has proved to be not worth it.First of all if you are a creative professional student like me who uses the laptop for 3D work you wont be disappointed at all but if you are counting on using this brand for more than 4 years you better think twice. Battery life was not bad in the first few months but after only one year of use my battery needs a replacement because of the disastrous dell battery quality. i spent almost 2000 dollars on my model with full maxed out specs but now i can see why i made a terrible choice with that money i spent.
Pros:powerful and fast, efficient display
Cons:battery needs repalcement after 1 year, no regular software updates, poor service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eric
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Alienware
Posted26 October 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm very dissapointed on alienware laptop. i just have one brandnew but after 2 years it suddenly went to 7beeps coma and support tells me to buy a new motherboard. im realy sad and dissapointed.. it's a hard earned money.. I wish they can offer me something but i guess it is too much too ask. now what should i do with my laptop..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Leo92
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Too many technical errors and issues
Posted24 September 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dear Dell, I'm posting this here because it's impossible to reach you. Please reply me if you want me to stop posting this.
This computer is a nightmare. Endless Blue Screens, freezes, bugs, and other issues. I've already received endless Dell support diagnostics and on-site repairs, and this computer is still malfunctioning. I would really like a refund.
Response from Dell.co.ukBy Alienware-RodAlienware 27 September 2017
Hi,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We can review your case and help you resolve the issues. For assistance, send us an email at awsocialmedia@dell.com. If you want to proceed with a refund, you would need to contact the Dell returns department for assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Janstockers
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title: Alienware 17 R4 with Radeon RX 470 Graphics.
Posted31 March 2017
Yes, I would recommend this product
My first Alienware Laptop and its brilliant. Intel i7 -7700 HQ is slick and so far no lag in any games. I bought it because its future proof and offers a lot of space for upgrading. Radeon graphics are exceptional and performs well on benchmarking tools. Style of laptop and the display with anti glare finish is good. Fully recommend spending the extra money to get a top gaming Laptop.
Pros:upgrading capacity, radeon rx 470 graphics, intel i7-7700 hq, laptop style
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Srscott
(Scotland, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Good Laptop
Posted07 January 2017
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is brilliant! a few Pro's and Cons:
I got the GTX 1080
16GB RAM
1TB SSD + 1TB HDD
4820HQ CPU
PROS:
FAST! This thing blazes through all games I throw at it! Never had an issue (bar Civ V but will come onto that)
Very nice looks, obviously this is a personal thing but it is such a unique looking laptop, its fantastic!
TOBI EYE TRACKING: As of now, its still a big gimmic, but it is SO accurate for what I do use it for and I think could actually help with a bit more support (it's a huge show off thing too!)
Command Centre: honestly, it works fine! Nice easy to use and laid out V nicely!
Thermals and heat: I have not ONCE had anywhere near an issue of heat (I've had it over a month just to see, but its cool as anythjing! Like surprisingly cool, temps don't get higher than 50-60 degrees after 6 hours of BF1!
CONS:
If you want to be one of those people and say a con of a 17" laptop is its big, then yeah it is big, HOWEVER DO BE AWARE YOU NEED A 18"+ BAG TO FIT THIS MONSTER IN! Same goes for weight it's quite heavy!
There were a few teething issues, it just ran slow for the first couple of days, but sorted itself out, i Literally didn't do anything, I just left it to download games over a couple of nights, then it was fine, never had an issue since!
Fans get loud but it's not a problem, my wife watches netflix about 4 feet from me from her iMac and it never bothers her, honestly there not bad some videos on youtube are obviously bad luck, mine have never hit that loud!
Cost: I got it during black friday etc so it's a pretty good price, however without any discount it is V expensive, make sure you contact Dell, I've spoken to a few people and they were all nice and polite!
Overall Dell have made a beat of a machiene I work in the Royal Navy and go on submarines, I need a laptop that can take a beating! This thing can take A HUGE HIT! Craftsmanship is flawless! Honestly hats off to the engineers! It feels sturdy and can play all my games and apps brilliantly! HIGHLY RECCOMEND!
The only issue I've had is playing CIV V, the sheer intensity of the CPU I havent seen a huge jump from my previous laptop (4800MQ) while there is a difference (deffinetly a difference!) it's not THAT big a jump, just bear that in mind Total War Warhammer etc play at 60FPS on ultra! And during turn change it doesn't stutter.
Highly reccomend though! Well done Alienware!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:atd
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Great Performances, poor screen
Posted03 January 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
Model Spec: 17R4, 2560 x 1440 QHD TN display 120Hz(w GSync), 6700HQ, 32GB DDR4 2400, 256 PCIe SSD, 1TB SATA.
The laptop looks premium quality and is very responsive.
I love the feel of the keyboard and of the matte finish.
I have been doing 3d work with it, and I am very pleased with the overall fluidity.

The only Con is that there is no display choice with the gtx1080, as TN display is not as flawless as the rest of that laptop:
Horizontal lines and non uniform back-lighting. (not that obvious but still annoying)
Apart from that the colors looks quite good, and the brightness is great.
Hopefully Dell will add a possibility to chose different options for the display very soon when choosing a gtx1080, or at least sort that display problem out.
Pros:gtx 1080, great design, premium built quality
Cons:tn display
Response from Dell.co.ukBy Alienware-RodAlienware13 January 2017
Hi,
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. If you need assistance with your Alienware system, send us an email at awsocialmedia@dell.com
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LewistheBarry
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: Desktop performance
Posted07 December 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
After almost a week with the laptop, I am very pleased with my purchase. I waited for the GTX 1080 to be released and I think it was worth waiting for. It achieves very high frame rates with all of my games at maximum settings with no AA (with 1440p, AA doesn't make a huge difference). The keyboard feels nice and large and typing is very comfortable. The track pad feels nice to use and is large enough.
Heat and thermals
In terms of heat, this machine surprisingly doesn't get too hot while playing games. While benchmarking the GPU, temperatures were below 70. It did not seem to thermal throttle when running valley and retained a average frame rate of over 90 at native resolution. I have yet to test the CPU as I don't have the software loaded.
Noise
When gaming, the fans do spin up to a very noticeable volume so you may want to wear headphones or turn the inbuilt speakers up a few to drown out the fan noise. It's distracting but for a gaming laptop this is to be expected. When idle or browsing the web the fans are almost silent
Speakers
The speakers are decent for a laptop and the added subwoofer gives off plenty of low end, and at high volumes doesn't sound distorted. The front speakers are very clear and responsive. Listening to music through them is enjoyable they have good clarity. Though you'll get much better sound with headphones or external speakers they are still impressive.
Performance
This is where the laptop shines. I played star wars battlefront at native resolution and achieved an average frame rate of about 90. The lowest I saw it go was about 75. Some maps saw the frame rate go into the 100s and the gsync screen makes all the difference. The games appear to be very smooth with no screen tearing what so ever. I played project cars which is quite a demanding title and the average frame rate was around 50-70 on some of the more demanding levels. Again, AA was disabled for the best possible frame rate and all of the settings were on ultra.
Bells and whistles
Alienfx is quite fun to use and seeing the laptop change colour is pretty fun. Tobii eye tracing is quite fun but after trying the little demo it came with, I can see the potential with some games it supports. Multi touch on the trackpad is pretty handy but sometimes I accidentally hold 2 or more fingers on it causing it to bring up the windows start menu. Handy, but occasionally annoying
Weight
This isn't something you'll want to carry everywhere with you like a tablet or a smaller laptop. You'll need a pretty large bag to lug this machine around and this apparently will not fit in the standard vindicator backpack should you plan on getting one, but instead the vindicator v2 supports this laptop. Though this is thinner than the previous laptops from alienware, it's still pretty thick but at the same time for a laptop of this performance, is rather thin. Make sure you have plenty of ventilation should you have this anywhere but a desk.
Conclusion
A very high performance and impressive laptop with great features and brilliant design. Not exactly very portable but at a laptop of this size is to be expected. Plenty of ports though if you plan on using an oculus or a vive, I would have liked to have seen a usb on the back of the laptop too. If you decide to use this laptop with an oculus, make sure you have a wireless bluetooth gamepad. Overall I am very happy with the machine.
Pros:powerful, vr capable, good sound quality, fast, tobii, 120hz screen
Cons:noisy fans, heavy, the power brick is huge, only 2 usb 3 ports
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CJO
(Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: CPU overheating
Posted05 December 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
I enjoy using my laptop. All the features are great and so does the build and performance. However, my laptop CPU reached 100C degrees on heavy load such as gaming while GPU is properly cooled. On such a big and heavy laptop that failed to cool a CPU is just ridiculous. I would happily rate this laptop 5 stars if the CPU cooling issue is not there.
Pros:great build
Cons:cpu cooling
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
  • 2017-12-16 T02:56:18.357-06:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2671, tr_2671
  • loc_en_US, sid_alienware-17-laptop, prod, sort_default
1 2 3 4 5 ... 90  
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.