Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Performance 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Value 
2.7 / 5
2.7 / 5
9 out of 2045%of customers recommend this
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Performance 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Value 
2.7 / 5
2.7 / 5
9 out of 2045%of customers recommend this
Product reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Have your say
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Performance 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Value 
2.7 / 5
2.7 / 5
9 out of 2045%of customers recommend this
20 Reviews
Customer Product Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nathalia12
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Garbage !
Posted24 April 2018
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second Alienware and both broke in less than a couple of years for the same reason: battery. Search online and you will see that after a year or so Alienware battery will stop working, showing an error "plugin not charging". The only gaming thing about this pc is the price. I will never again buy an Alienware.
Oh and if you're wondering about customer service forget it. They will just say "there's nothing we can do out of warranty" but a 2yr gaming laptop costing this much surely should not break like this ! twice !
Cons:expensive, breaks in less than a year, out of touch, heavy, not really portable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KizR
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Lots of Light bleed which ruins gaming experience
Posted21 March 2018
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a screen replacement this issue is still prevalent, excessive light bleed reducing black levels on the edges as well as spilling into the center of the screen, games or movies with naturally dark scenes are washed into a mid level gray / white wash. The issue is two fold on dells part, 1) the screen is only mounted with fours screws so it naturally twists and 2) the bezel places unnecessary pressure on the screen. The technician tried a few online recommendations of placing small pieces of rubber to lift the bezel up but this didn't work. Until Dell change the way how the screen is mounted and fit with the bezel, this issue will always be there. If someone from dell reads this and thinks this light bleed design issue has been resolved ill be willing to try a new screen and rewrite this review, i'm still within my support window.
Pros:solid build quality, easy access to components, quality keyborard, rgb lights are lovely, usb 3 and thunderbolt, graphics amplifier, amazing speakers
Cons:lightbleed, easily shows finger prints and smudges, thermal paste on cpu and gpu is poor quality, runs hot without quality thermal paste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Deadlyz
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: Desktop Replacement
Posted2 February 2018
Yes, I would recommend this product
Getting a computer that can serve to play games for years and work as a desktop replacement, with features of g-sync playing modern games at 80 frames at least on games that are optimised for the GPU. As well as being computer for University doing a bachelor of Computer Science I was sceptical to get something that sits just above 70 frames because of games differing in performance and being able to play games within a few years. I wanted to get the 1080 just to be on the safe side as it is a gaming laptop. if you are worried about the tn panel on this system based on what people say I wouldn't be. I was worried but the colour vibrancy is really good, however you need to be sitting in front of it as it looks slightly blurry from looking at a certain angle. if you don't understand how the CPU works in terms of CPU processors in desktops, it has 8 threads within 4 cores. It will get rid of the cores to put up frequency. So if you are playing games it will go to 3.5 ghz on the i7 7820HK.
If you are concerned about the weight of this, it is heavy but if that doesn't bother you and your prefer the performance its fine.
the sound of the fans can't get quite loud and you need to have it sitting on a surface that is solid otherwise your CPU and GPU will heat up by 5 to 10 degrees.
The Tobii eye tracking is really responsive but you wont use it a lot. But it is quite good.
The lighting is awesome on all different sections.
The battery is a bit whatever but having the more powerful system, the lights and the 400 nits panel it is expected when you are playing games. You can stretch it if you don't have the lights on and have the brightness down of the screen and not play games on it.
My experience of having this product I have encountered multiple issues but seeing if the replacement fixes this. i am slightly concerned that there is an overall issue with maintaining the consistency of power to the GPU or overheating of both the CPU and GPU may be causing some issues.
Pros:performance, lights
Cons:low battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Philip87
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: Unbelievable gaming machine
Posted3 January 2018
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the 17r4 with the i7 7700hq and GTX 1070. I like many was concerned about thermal issues but I had nothing to worry about. This machine is a BEAST! I'm playing Wolfenstein 2 at 1440p, uber settings and hitting 80fps+ no problem. I undervolted to -.135 using the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility (which has no adverse effects on performance) and it's running at 60 degrees C under max load. It's lightning fast and the 120hz screen is great, even for a TN. Highly recommend.
Pros:performance, heat management (undervolted)
Cons:lack of usb ports is disappointing but no big deal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HamidH
(Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title: Alienware 17 R3 owner
Posted14 December 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Bought my alienware 17 r3 on july 2016 and using it for over a year the laptop has proved to be not worth it.First of all if you are a creative professional student like me who uses the laptop for 3D work you wont be disappointed at all but if you are counting on using this brand for more than 4 years you better think twice. Battery life was not bad in the first few months but after only one year of use my battery needs a replacement because of the disastrous dell battery quality. i spent almost 2000 dollars on my model with full maxed out specs but now i can see why i made a terrible choice with that money i spent.
Pros:powerful and fast, efficient display
Cons:battery needs repalcement after 1 year, no regular software updates, poor service
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eric
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Alienware
Posted26 October 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm very dissapointed on alienware laptop. i just have one brandnew but after 2 years it suddenly went to 7beeps coma and support tells me to buy a new motherboard. im realy sad and dissapointed.. it's a hard earned money.. I wish they can offer me something but i guess it is too much too ask. now what should i do with my laptop..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Leo92
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title: Too many technical errors and issues
Posted24 September 2017
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dear Dell, I'm posting this here because it's impossible to reach you. Please reply me if you want me to stop posting this.
This computer is a nightmare. Endless Blue Screens, freezes, bugs, and other issues. I've already received endless Dell support diagnostics and on-site repairs, and this computer is still malfunctioning. I would really like a refund.
Response from Dell.co.ukBy Alienware-RodAlienware 27 September 2017
Hi,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We can review your case and help you resolve the issues. For assistance, send us an email at awsocialmedia@dell.com. If you want to proceed with a refund, you would need to contact the Dell returns department for assistance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Janstockers
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title: Alienware 17 R4 with Radeon RX 470 Graphics.
Posted31 March 2017
Yes, I would recommend this product
My first Alienware Laptop and its brilliant. Intel i7 -7700 HQ is slick and so far no lag in any games. I bought it because its future proof and offers a lot of space for upgrading. Radeon graphics are exceptional and performs well on benchmarking tools. Style of laptop and the display with anti glare finish is good. Fully recommend spending the extra money to get a top gaming Laptop.
Pros:upgrading capacity, radeon rx 470 graphics, intel i7-7700 hq, laptop style
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
  • 2018-05-22 T14:14:37.614-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_alienware-17-laptop, prod, sort_default
1 2  
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.